Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | British Airways

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for British Airways First Class and Club World Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

BRITISH AIRWAYS First Class and Club World Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

2 September 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

James Hicks

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Flew Sydney to London in a full cabin. 50th birthday present to myself. In light entertainment did not operate Sydney to Singapore but fortunately did for most of the journey Singapore to London. Double windows with Venetian blinds and no one beside me. Flat bed attended by staff.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

2 September 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

A Barrett

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

BOS-LHR-DXB, both segments on 777 with Old First seats. Those are good seats, although everything is pretty weathered in the cabin. Nothing memorable. The amenity kits are pretty cheap, food was OK, not overly impressed, but more space than business. DXB-LHR-BOS on 747 in New First. I was very excited until we took off. When I tried to adjust my seat, I couldn't figure out how to raise the legs and slightly recline the back. There is only one control for the entire seat. So I asked the FA, she laughed and said "you can't". That's right, you cannot adjust the legs and back separately. It is either sitting up and your feet way extended onto the lower ottoman, or fully reclined into a bed. the legrest of the seat does not start to come up until the seat is almost in the fully reclined position. Such a shame, because the seats otherwise were comfy. FA said everyone complains about it. Seats are much narrower. Buddy Seat is impossible to use. Literally. I tried to sit in it to have breakfast with my travel companion, and basically couldn't fit. Sleep position was good, but less space on the foot end. IFE was terrible. Huge screens, lots of potential - but super blurry picture on all screens and only about 10-15 movies to choose from. It's a shame that airlines continue to disappoint with new products.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

2 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Alain Starr

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Privacy, true lie flat beds, lots of storage, pleasant crew, incredible lounges and decent main hub. The business class layout allows passengers to get out of their seats even if there neighbor is sleeping. I just don't get why this setup did not become the standard for all airlines. I always try and get an upper deck seat.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J McDougall

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Seat 16K/16A was a lot more restricted in terms of width compared to the B747-400. The experience wasn't great from the staff either, this is not the first time I've thought this about BA and being a gold member I now question why I fly BA at all if it wasn't for the executive club. Food was not so bad and the wine was great, lots of choice though I did grow frustrated by the amount of world traveller plus who used the bathrooms designated for business class. The new AVOD is good though not remarkable, I ended up using my iPad for most of the flight as the selection was pretty limited.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Bill Atkins

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I now always hope that I will not have New First. The main reason is that all the freedom of seat position has gone with the new controller - impossible to have feet elevated without being in bed position. Still too many seats in the cabin, and the new wardrobe is completely useless - if the passenger behind slams the door your whole seat shakes - same for video screen. general quality of the cabin very shoddy - clearly not meant to last long before the next upgrade hopefully.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Kearney

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My wife and I travelled LHR-MIA and having researched recommended best seats in Business Class for this aircraft type, chose 62A & 62B. This was a tired aircraft and the moment we sat down in a narrow wobbly seat, we had our doubts. Our doubts were confirmed when shortly after take off, the inflight entertainment system failed and was rebooted twice but to no avail. Not what you look forward to for a 9 hour flight. The facing backward and forward combination doesn't work. When in the full recline position (62B), someone has to step over your legs to get to the passenger seating 61A or for them to exit to go to the bathroom - unacceptable. Old product that doesn't work properly. Would recommend you research other Business Class seats before choosing BA.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

J Kearney

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I choose to fly British Airways because staff are good. We experienced the new BA First Class product in August 2011 and found it to be perfectly acceptable. Given this was launched back on February 2010, can you imagine my delight when we boarded our flight in April 2012 to find the old First Class product. Terribleis the only world to describe the seats. Cabin Crew who work ten times harder to deliver a First Class experience given Budget equipment to work with. Faux walnut panelling, bits hanging down from various places in the cabin. The new product which I have already commented on is perfectly acceptable, but the old product would have almost suited Premium Economy, certainly not Club World or First Class. I was left feeling that I had been fleeced. Paid for First Class and given Premium Economy.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

James Hicks

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Cabin not as impressive as the 777 that I flew to London, a plus was that the IFE system worked the entire journey. It failed on the 777. Bed fully flat and extremely comfortable. Table huge.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

30 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Elliott

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

NBO-LHR. Check in a breeze, Galleries lounge in Nairobi pleasant but could do with a better food selection plus the Wifi wasn't working. Club World seat is soft, comfy and converts into a fully flat bed which is made up of your fully reclined seat plus a horizontal footstool. My seat faced backwards which wasn't a problem at all but during take off you're facing a fellow passenger, which on this occasion turned out well. Then you slide up a divide screen for total privacy - however the flight attendant has to regularly slide it up and down to serve you food and drink. The space around you feels very private, there is a laptop store, the TV screen is an adequate size and has a good selection of programming - I just wish they didn't roll the Highlife branding and adverts before every film/tv show. The only downside was the food which was uninspiring - not much better than economy to be honest, but the big plus is the showers, plentiful breakfast selection and free massage at the Galleries Arrival lounge at Heathrow.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

30 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Simon Freeman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Flying fairly frequently LHR-JFK, I love the privacy, service and comfort of sitting upstairs. I have no problem flying backwards and my wife and I both take a window seat. My only criticism is that the Club kitchen no longer stocks recognisable brands (Cadburys and Walkers) and now uses what looks likes the remains of shopping trip to Lidl. Lounges can be a bit overcrowded but the pre-flight supper more than compensates. Recently did the same journey in a 777 and found Club a bit more claustrophobic so will be booking my flights to get on the 747's.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

30 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

K Thakkar

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

PHL to LHR – Overall experience was okay, not impressed at all with British Airways service in business class. Food is okay and IFE is poor. The flat seats are good.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

29 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

R Waddington

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

There is no privacy unless you are in 1A or 1K, 2A and K not too bad but thats it. It feels crowded, the food very average, some of the wine is OK. The aircraft was filthy, especially the toilets and the cabin although renovated was well worn. I cannot understand how BA keep attracting so many repeat customers when a lot of the competition is way ahead. I only fly BA now if I don't have another choice and will stick with Business class and deal with the angry crew!



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

26 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

S Lawrie

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Flew to Vancouver in the old style, and back in the new first class. Lovely new blinds and a much needed larger screen but when there is nothing much to watch then it is wasted. Choice of movies/tv/audio so limited for long flights. Food and wine selection poor and service not first class for sure. So disappointed!



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

20 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Robert Cote

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Got upgraded to Business from Premium Economy on LHR-ORD segment. Wife and I were in 1st row middle seats facing one another - very odd, as she was facing backwards. We are both slim, so the seat width was fine, and when we reclined fully, we were comfortable enough to sleep for 3-4 hours. The TV was too small and rather far, and the dinner tray was smaller than I've had on another airlines in Business (Qatar, Turkish). Meal was good, but neither it nor the service compared to either of the previous mentioned airlines in the same cabin. I think facing people to add more seats is kind of tacky. I certainly wouldn't have paid the $5000 one-way fare for this service. The inner 2 people also have to step over the feet of others to get out.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

21 June 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Neil Bennett

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Rear facing seats on upper deck of 747, dreadful. Was looking forward to flying business class on upper deck. Expected it to be front facing, one next to another with good window views. It was rear facing with a cheap plastic screen that separated me from the person next door but can still make out their blurred features. Have to climb over their legs to get out. BA champagne was nice though, took my mind off the horrible rear facing seats.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

21 June 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

O Dodon

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-GRU. When possible I choose a seat in the last row on the upper deck. Privacy is very good and it is very important to me. The crew was welcoming and polite. Food was far from exceptional I certainly prefer BA business class to Air France or Lufthansa.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

21 June 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Bob Carver

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Great lounge at LHR T3. Loads of food and quality wines etc. The seat was superb, I am 6'5" tall and big build. I slept in comfort for over 7 hours! Had a great breakfast and lovely cups of tea. All in all a fabulous journey and done in style right down to the Johnnie Walker blue label and Otard XO as standard. Would recommend this to anyone and looking forward to doing it again.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

21 June 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Alan Ayres

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-Phoenix-LHR. The upper deck on Boeing 747 is the best cabin on BA. If you can get 62 or 64A or K, you can get in and out without disturbing another passenger. Window seats, though facing backwards, offer large storage lockers and more privacy. Reclining to flat is easier than on Virgin, and comfort level is good. Armrests extraordinarily hard. IFE switched on right after takeoff.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

1 May 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Bob Andrews

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

This was my first (and maybe last) experience of the new layout. It is crowded (too many seats) and I believe a step backward from the old style as a lot of privacy is gone. Video screens are bigger and the double window pane is nice but the seat seems less comfortable when upright and more claustrophobic. IFE didn't work initially but after several attempts the crew got it working. There is less space next to window to put things on than with the old seat and the meal tray is smaller. The personal closet is a joke because you can't fit more than a shirt and shoes in it. But to make things worse, the food has seriously deteriorated and the wines and champagne are no better than Club World. The service was slow but polite. I believe that the new seat is well behind the competition and that the Club World seat is actually better.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

27 February 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

E Montero

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Singapore to London. The BA First Class experience is definitely not memorable. Changi Qantas/BA lounge is a real shame, no decent food is offered and hardly a place to sit as it is so crowded with several flights leaving at the same time. The new cabin atmosphere is quite nice, but there are too many seats. The cabin was full and from what I noticed a couple of upgrades. The crew was not interested in providing a good service and once dinner is served don't expect to see them around for most of the flight. The seat is not much better than the old one, it is still too narrow and quite hard. The only good news is the larger tv screen. It looks more like a business class product rather than a First class one. The washrooms were not clean and I had to make my bed as nobody offered to do so. The food was just terrible - pasta was sticky and not even warm, cheese was as hard as stone, I left most of my dinner and asked for a tea with lemon and honey. After 15 minutes came the tea without lemon or honey, it took another ten minutes to have the lemon but I never had the honey. Is this service? Breakfast on BA is a joke, fruits are terrible, toasts cold and chewy and scrambled eggs are greasy.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

27 February 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Higgins

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-YVR in the new First cabin layout. The seat seemed narrower (and guest seat / foot rest was certainly too narrow); the level of privacy is very poor in comparison with other first class layouts, several (too many) small details about the new layout are impractical and not sufficiently thought through. How did BA get this so wrong?



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

26 February 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Robin Hedges

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

London to Sydney, out via Bangkok and back via Singapore. All four legs of the journey had the new First seats. Refined and classy. Entertainment system top rate. It was a treat to myself to fly BA first. It's extortionately priced, but for a once in a lifetime experience I'd highly recommend it. I had seat 1A going out on the 747 and 1K coming back on the 777.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Scott Cooper

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Cape Town - London, my seat was directly next to the galley and directly under the main staff-controlled cabin light. A fateful combination that can never provide for anything close to the experience BA widely tout. Add to that, that their chillers failed so there was no food save for breakfast, no fast-track service on arrival, no T5 Arrivals Lounge (because nobody thought to tell the First Class passengers - or at least me - about it), and that my clearly-labelled First Class luggage emerged last on the carousel, and you have a truly lamentable service. I thought it might be a one-off - having scanned the reviews below, it is clearly not. The gulf with the Middle East and Asian carriers is getting wider and wider - it is hard to see how the current management / ownership can ever bridge it.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Vaughn

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Overall I would say I was underwhelmed. The seat is very narrow from the hips down. I found it quite hard to fall asleep. BA has the sleeper service which basically means you get a salad with 3 shrimp, a bread roll and one service of drinks. Compared to the food and service on AA this fell well short. Breakfast consisted of a croissant and jam, and a bacon roll if you were lucky enough to catch the FA eye - unfortunately I wasn't! FA seemed intent on getting through the service ASAP. Although the seat is marginally better than AA, I would fly AA business before this product again. My IFE didn't work the whole flight, I was told by a FA that there were other peoples IFE that wasn't working either and there was nothing they could do. BA used to be so good in Club World, its disappointing that they have let their standards slip.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Wilson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Having flown with South African Airways, Qantas and Iberia as part of my round the world ticket, British Airways proved to be an incredible disappointment in every respect and I will avoid flying them again. I rang my bell about 10 times only to be ignored, the face to back seating arrangement was incredibly uncomfortable, food was dry and boring and the service the worst I've come across. I must say the First Class Galleries Lounge at T5 in London is the best I've come across. A shame that the service, food and seat is letting down what use to be a leading airline.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

A Mulligan

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Have flown BA First twice now. SYD-BKK amazing service, the older cabin was clean, comfortable and in good working order. The crew were friendly. A direct contrast to BKK-SYD flight where the cabin was filthy, in a state of disrepair, and the crew were surly and rude. Not only did I have to stand for 45 mins whilst my bed was made. I woke an hour and a half before landing, and was told to, "Hurry up if you want breakfast love". The food on this flight was rubbish. Seats 2A/K offer privacy one expects of First without any loss of space (1A/K)



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Patrick Benson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Before boarding you have use of the vastly over-rated Concorde Room. Staff ignore empty cups, magazines are scattered lazily on a table, forgettable food is served in ludicrously designed booths with walls so high that serving staff are unable to see who needs assistance. The shower rooms look like something you'd find in an NHS hospital. Really grim. The whole thing has zero finesse and looks like the reception of a Holiday Inn. Old tired filthy cabin with tape decks blocked up. TVs are so out of date that they give you an iPad. For the money, it's not a serious product. It's sad to see a once great airline slide.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Patrick Benson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-EWR on a 777 in old First Class. Really tired, unclean and past it. Screens are small and they offer an iPad instead. Food good, friendly staff. JFK-LHR in the new First. Very clean, power at seat. Good staff. The large screens are low res, and still run the old in-flight system (which as usual had to be rebooted 30mins into the flight). The lounges both ends are deeply pedestrian. Arrivals lounge in Heathrow is average. I'm only not recommending this seat because the quality of lounges in terms of facilities, quality of food, and design - fall far short of First Class lounges by similar airlines.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Schlecht

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The cabin layout maximizes privacy, and the seat is flat. Not every aspect of the seat is perfect, but those two items - privacy and flatness count for 90% of what matters to me.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

T Reed

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I have flown BA First 5 times in the last 4 months and have been amazed every time at how poor the service, food quality and overall experience is. The food is consistently worse that the Business Class of middle eastern airlines; there was a time when First class meant vintage Krug, caviar and other similar luxuries. In my case, the food was so bad that I did not eat it - far better to fill up on decent fare in the T5 lounge at LHR. BA really need to get their act together - First should be superlative given the prices charged - I was left very unimpressed on each occasion.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Lightfoot

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I always try to get 62A in the upper deck, although it is facing backwards, which does not worry me, I find this particular seat excellent for ease of moving around etc.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

N Werner

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-HKG-LHR in new 777-300ER. Seat seems to be the same as on other planes with the difference that they have new AVOD with a slightly bigger screen. Seat comfortable and seating arrangement is the same as on other 777 with BA. The lavatories are behind the Club World cabin so avoid rows 15 and 16 - they are just next to the lavatories and these are the locations for travellers with baby basinets. Row 10 is a bit too close to the galley for my taste. I travelled in row 11 and 13, which was good. If you are flying with a friend or companion, the middle seats are perfect, as they give you full privacy. On both night flights I could get 7-8 hours of sleep and the bed was comfortable. A nice touch would be to receive a blanket or thin mattress to place on the seat, for it to be more comfortable. I like the small drawer, they provide to put your personal belongings.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

24 January 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Michael Perry

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

For the last 15-20 years BA First has been my preferred mode of travel, paying money out of my own pocket for the experience - not anymore - there are better First choices out there. If you must travel BA, Business is the better choice. I only now travel BA when I absolutely have to, and on my routes I'm invariably on an unimproved plane. I support the previous detracting correspondents below on the poor quality of the unimproved First Class - I do feel cabin service remains good. Unfortunately the improved First Class is not a whole lot better and is some way behind the better competitors. If the new First Class had been introduced 7-8 years ago, BA may perhaps have stayed ahead of the game for a bit but not anymore.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

24 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Haupt

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Seat is too narrow and too short. At 1.83m tall, I could not stretch fully and had to lie on my side to fit my shoulders into the space the seat leaves. Cabin design is miserable and seems to be falling apart.



BRITISH AIRWAYS CLUB WORLD BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

24 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Y Benzian

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Strange with the seats in zig-zag. My husband and I where seated in the middle seats and had to jump over our neighbor each time we wanted to get out. We also had to look at our neigbors face every time we got served or asked something. Somehow it all felt a bit rude. I much prefer Singapore Airlines 4 seats in a row compared to BA's 6. Quite comfortable to sleep in but no space for bags or shoes, we had to put everything in the overhead lockers. Food really terrible, more like a school kitchen. Seemed to be sauces out of a tin and very dry chicken. Bread sweet and breakfast quite awful. Again compared to Singapore Airlines where you get served from a trolley and can look and chose. On our way back to Europe we had seats 4 F and 4 G, the last of the row. Now we didn´t have to jump over our fellow passengers.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

28 November 2011

Cabin

First Class

Review by

M Lee

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-SFO with the old First Class. The cabin smelled musty, carpets needed a vacuum, cushion looked about twenty years old, and the blanket - something that would be too threadbare to give to our pugs. The table linens were shoddy too. The food was simply dreadful. No canapes - just some slices of duck breast that was just plonked down and which I didn't want. I ordered a Fillet Steak - tough and dry. The crew were pretty useless, with the CSD hovering around like Fagin. I thanked him for his welcome and then told him the cabin was in a dreadful state "oh yes, this plane should have been redone in September" I have flown First Class on Thai Airways, Lufthansa, ANA and United Airlines in the last couple of months, and all were vastly superior to BA. I'm afraid BA have really lost it, and I try not to use them even on frequent flyer mileage tickets - now they this Avios system. The new ad campaign is a bit of a misfit as other reviewers have noted. "To Fly To Serve" was fine in the hey day of Concorde, but the BA product and the people just aren't up to it anymore, and they have been left behind by many other carriers.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

27 November 2011

Cabin

First Class

Review by

E Michaels

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Reference to M Cooper comments about the time taken to roll-out the "new" BA First class product. I would not worry yourself too much, as the new product is a total disappointment, and falls well short of middle east and most asian carrier products out there. Seat in bed format offers virtually no space for your feet, cushions are still lumpy in joints. On my recent trip from HKG, no amenity kit, no pj's, filthy toilet for duration of flight - and a lot more negativity that makes me furious when I see BA pretending it is something else with its new slogan. Clear and blatant misrepresentation.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

26 November 2011

Cabin

First Class

Review by

M Cooper

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

BA failed in every way. From no seats in the First or Business class sides of the Terraces Lounge in ATL being available (full-fare First ticket holders will resent being told by BA lounge staff "we are busy tonight" as an excuse). Boarded the aircraft to find a delapidated, old First worn out configuration with food stains on the non-working equipment contraptions. First cabin service was nonexistent and appalling. BA's rating needs to be seriously put under review as they are no longer a 4-star airline. The airline has been advertising "New First" for a couple of years yet it is not fully rolled out. Food quality, cabin service, menu selection (even the cheap cardboard menus they hand you now in First should be an embarrassment to BA) have all deteriorated in the past couple of years. It is a shame because BA was a holdout for a while as one of the last major non-Asian/Middle Eastern carriers to have some resemblance of quality and a First class product/service that full-fare premium passengers would pay for. Avoid BA and hopefully they will get their act together, but I fear the money issue and cost-cutting measures have ruined the airline for good. A paltry response from customer service was a reply that awarded me with 5,000 BA miles - in addition to the over 300,000 I already have! Hardly an adequate gesture given the experience.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

26 November 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Matlaszek

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR to Shanghai and found the layout of seats in Club World to be very squashed. You are in a kind of pod where although the top end of the seat is wide enough it tapers from the waist down making it damn uncomfortable. The worst and most ludicrous thing was having to clamber over the feet of a sleeping passenger to get out of your pod if you needed to use the wash room! Who designed this? I am most surprised that I have not read a lot more negative comments about this kind of layout all for the sake to cram an extra 2 or 3 seats into Club class. We found the seats to be lumpy and uncomfortable. Overall not impressed at all and in future it will be another airline for us.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

26 November 2011

Cabin

First Class

Review by

M Fletcher

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

China to LHR on a 13.5 year old B744 - experience was appalling. Cabin crew spent most of the trip apologising to the few people in first class cabin for various deficiencies. The interior of the cabin was damaged, tatty and dirty, with layers of dirt in any crevice and plenty of poor fitting parts to the seat I was in. The power for the laptop ceased to function. Each plane carries one connection kit to allow first class passengers to connect their laptop to the obscure power connector used, other passengers had to rely on battery power. The TV screen cannot be seen without the blind being down and is not a widescreen but something like an 8" screen. Conversely the 777 I flew out on (business class) uses a normal international plug arrangement and was just a much better flight. British Airways First class was an embarrassment that no amount of fancy menus or new paint jobs can hide. Avoid at any cost.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

26 October 2011

Cabin

First Class

Review by

E Michaels

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

A lot of agreement with the previous First Class cabin review (13 September). The "new" First Class was a true disappointment, and having flown 35 other airlines First class in the last 2 years, cannot understand how BA can have got this so wrong. Okay, the "bean-counters" at BA must take some blame for trying to squeeze in more seats than other airlines. The seat in flatbed position is very narrow from your waist down, to the end where your feet are squeezed into a space less than 12 inches wide. Cushion comfort is not good for relatively new product, and I have travelled many Business class seats on other carriers that are better than this. Food and wine is on a par with Business class of some airlines, but below even higher end Business class of certain Asian and Middle East airlines. Service - let's not go there, but very poor! If you have the chance of choosing an alternative airline's First Class, it is probably going to be better than British Airways.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

26 October 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Mike Slattery

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

JNB-LHR in Club World. Being in the upper deck is a must - very quiet environment. The seat is really pretty disappointing - it's the new seat. Everything just look second rate in terms of quality of materials. Divider between seats is useless - mine was actually broken. The footrest was also awkward and the seats very narrow. Not quite what I expected.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

26 October 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Michal

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I was disappointed with length of the seat. Full flat bed is useless for 190cm tall guy if I can't stretch my legs. As well I would appreciate more space to store my personal belongings. One box provided by the seat is not enough to store laptop and purse at the same time - things you want to keep close. I had seat by the window which means I had to cross another sleeping person while going to restroom.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

13 September 2011

Cabin

First Class

Review by

John Harwood

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

BA have really lost a chance to introduce something really new with their first cabin upgrades which have been introduced. Essentially, the seat is the old seat recovered and with different controls, it does not feel any better to me, in fact I found it a little uncomfortable. Why didn't they introduce suites or something really different to try and get back some of the market they must have lost in recent years. The recently "improved food and wine in first is also not as good as much that I have had in BA First.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

13 September 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

G Woods

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

BA Business cabin layout is rubbish. The very tacky plastic screen which is in the down position until after take off, means you are almost facing and very close to the person in the next pod. The screen is also extremely awkward for cabin staff as they cannot serve the person sitting next to the window very easily. It is all very clumsy. The cabin was also very dingy, dated and grubby.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 777-200 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   13 September 2011 by A Sell

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Great new product - shame the staff are still appalling (doing you a favour/presumptuous), failed IFE/AVOD, failed in-seat laptop power, broken curtain fastener so noise and light from galley (they make little attempt to keep their chat and their crockery quiet!). Such a shame. Embarrassed to be British - letting the side down.



BRITISH AIRWAYS A321 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 August 2011 by R Baldwin

Aircraft

A321

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-IST-LHR. As I was on holiday and this is one of Europe's longest flights at nearly 4 hours, I treated myself to Club Europe instead of economy. Outbound was in an economy seat 3x3 and inbound was the same slightly wider economy style seat with the narrow divider in between. Outbound there was no breakfast choice, only poor scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon. Not good. Service patchy on the way out even though most passengers were sleeping. On the return the service was much better, as was the food. The one thing that was great in Istanbul was the fast track pass to avoid an impressively long immigration queue. I was whisked straight to the front past crew and felt like a VIP! BA lounge at Attaturk is small and the toilet is outside the lounge. Food choice is poor, but reasonable selection of drinks and reading materials. All in all the in-flight experience is not up to scratch, but the fringe benefits of the pre-flight perks at either end partly make up for it. One question - if Aeroflot can provide 2x2 business seats on a similar length flight from Moscow to London, why can't BA manage it?



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 August 2011 by John Martiz

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

BAH-LHR Business class was very good specially when on a 777 but the seats were little strange when having a window seat (you take off back-words)) the overall experience was good, cabin crew welcoming, loved the spa facilities in the terminal.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 747-400 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 August 2011 by Alan Foster

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Outward bound had upgraded first class seating. Electronically-controlled window shades a nice touch. Some small personal storage available now. Reasonable privacy, improved video services. Return 747 first class had not been upgraded and it showed. Damaged plastic, zero (and I mean zero) personal storage at seat, ancient tiny video monitor that wouldn't pass muster in today's new economy seats. Video service failed several times in the course of the 10 hour flight and the plane's system had to be completely rebooted. Food both directions was adequate for first class, but hardly exceptional. Portions were small. Attendant service much like the food. Duvet bedding was quite hot, European standard. On return trip, bottom pad did not fit properly. When lowered for sleep, return bed narrowed drastically at the feet, creating a confined feeling and making turning difficult. Little privacy. Food at the Concorde room at Heathrow is exceptional (best eggs Benedict I've had) but breakfast continues well into the afternoon. Excellent views of the airport from the external, private deck. Moral: if flying a BA 747 in first, inquire (if possible) if the section has been recently upgraded. Upgraded first is nice, but no comparison to, say, Cathay Pacific, which offers true privacy and comfort. My ratings are for the outbound flight only, assuming (hoping) the old first in which I returned is soon to be retired.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 777-200 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 August 2011 by P Walton

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-TLV. Priority boarding not enforced as usual and gate staff utterly disinterested other than (loudly) trading gossip. Bused to the stand. Drivers are incredibly rude, cramming on as many passengers as possible: lots of elbows and hand luggage and trying to stay on your feet as the driver seemingly does everything in his power to turn the bus over. Club cabin fairly clean and nothing hanging off on this aircraft. Seat 12F so good privacy. Departure delayed by about an hour due to a technical issue for with a door. Food on this route is always awful. Same offering every time I've travelled: the brunch on the one occasion I tried it was awful. IFE on these aircraft is a loop system. Cabin was very noisy as a number of families with young children were travelling. The baby was actually pretty quiet, the children however were not. Service friendly and seat comfy as usual. BA really needs to sort out its food offering and ground handling at Heathrow: a pot noodle on a plate wouldn't have been any worse. So much for Heathrow T5C putting an end to the 'on the buses' pantomime.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   12 August 2011 by Y Ren

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

My first experience with BA club world class. Seats are good, full flat bed. Cabin is so dark and look so dated. flying backwards if you have window seats, food is pretty average, most importantly cabin crews are not that interested to serve you.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   12 August 2011 by S Michael

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Club World (business Class) Seat 19A. This seat is a rearward facing seat offering plenty of privacy and comfort. The seat in most positions was comfortable and provided an excellent lie flat position, although a touch narrow this was not an issue. When in the lie flat position with the privacy screen in the up position it provided a cocoon like environment that was very private. 19B was forward facing, lacked the privacy as it was an Aisle seat. With the screen down and in an upright seating position we could converse with ease and enjoy each others company during meal breaks. Seat 19A (window) was positioned that no other passengers interfered or had to cross over you, that said when seat 20B was in a recline or lie flat position you had to climb / step over their legs, this was not an issue for me but may be a problem for a less agile passenger. The TV screen was large enough without being to big and the seat cushioning was excellent. The rear facing seat is a welcome change and I actually found it easier to sleep facing this way as your head was slightly above your feet compared to the forward facing seats that appeared to have your feet slightly higher, not sure if that was an illusion or not but it certainly felt that way. Service was great and food and beverage selection was great. Overall I was extremely impressed.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   11 August 2011 by J Kearney

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The crew were fantasic and the aircraft was clean and fresh. The first thing that struck me was that when you sat down, the seats are lower down than usual. A slightly odd feeling at first but ultimately, you then felt there was more space/room all around you. As a couple travelling together, it is a bit odd with the window seat facing rear and the aisle seat facing forward. Have to say, the seats are not as wide, or long in lie flat mode compared to Cathay! I am 6/2 and in lie flat, head and toes both touch the extremties and it isn't great. Couldn't get used to the dividers between the aisle passengers and ourselves, flying up and down at the touch of the button by Cabin Crew. It was awkward having your food tray passed across the nose of the aisle passenger. Felt sorry for them.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 747-400 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   11 August 2011 by B Abel

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The new First Class was very disappointing, especially compared with Qantas, Emirates, Singapore and Etihad. While the venetian blinds were a nice touch and there's a not-very-deep wardrobe, the TV monitor is basically an enlarged version of the old one so movies are still shown in the old pan and scan not widescreen versions and the definition is anything but HD. But the worst thing was that when the seat reclined into a bed, the upper part of the seat supporting the shoulders and head did not go completely flat so if you lie on your side your shoulder and head are on an upward angle. Unforgivable, especially when British Airways 'invented' the bed. There wasn't much room for the feet either. And the champagne wasn't Krug, Comtes de Champagne or Dom Perignon, just vintage Taittinger. It's basically an upmarket Business Class, not a First Class product.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 747-400 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   11 August 2011 by A Hickling

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat 1K inbound and outbound LHR-JFK in New First. The new cabin offers more space, comfort and refinement. The electronic blind is a great feature and illuminates blue light to replicate daytime. The tray table folds out to serve two people for dinner if you are travelling with a companion. You have a personal wardrobe to place your jacket, shoes and laptop and main wardrobe and overhead bins for larger items. There is a power socket that accommodates British plugs and the entertainment system is a 15" screen. The seat is 60% wider than the old one and more comfortable for sitting, reclining and sleeping. There is a shelf to place bits and bobs and a seat pocket for papers and books.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 July 2011 by K Sawyer

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Love the upstairs deck. Really good value for money when compared with prices for First. Good service and beds comfortable. Food sometimes fantastic and other times appalling. The cold option is never a good bet!



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011 by Andy Miskin

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Return flight from London Heathrow to New York. Overall a great and very comfortable flight, managed to get some sleep in the very comfortable flat bed each way. Service, food and privacy all very good and seats are very comfortable and private. Only complaint is the inflight entertainment - small screen which is fairly low quality and the entertainment wasn't on demand.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 747-400 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011 by Mendoza Facundo

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-EZE-LHR. Old First Class. Concorde room is excellent. Cabin is nice, but I have to admit that I prefer the atmosphere of the Upper Deck Business Class. Service good, but it seems that depends a lot from the crew.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011 by Mendoza Facundo

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I travelled on their Business Class (Club World) several times in the last year between LHR-EZE-LHR. Also LHR- DFW-LHR. Lounge in London is really good. Lot of space, good complimentary food, free wifi. So in general excellent. Showers really good. And the spa is ok, when you get the chance to have one. BA should find a way to schedule the spa though. The seat is comfortable and fully flat. Service good. If you fly on the Upper Deck you will maximize the experience. Lounge in EZE is an American Airlines one.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011 by A Brown

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Business Class Seat was broken and would not decline. BA refused to refund any difference in the price between that and an economy seat. Shocking service from the staff and the call centre. Would not recommend it.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 777-200 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011 by Graham Woods

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

15K I find the window seats (rear facing) to be very claustrophobic. When the screen is in the down position (as it is until take off) you are very close to the passenger in the next seat (almost facing him) and feel obliged to strike up conversation. There is no window next to the seat (which I was not told about) and there is nowhere to place personal items (water, books newspapers etc) - so it is very difficult to get out of the seat without carrying all your items with you. I must say that I am very disappointed with the layout of the BA Business cabin to the point that I will look at other airlines in future. What is wrong with large comfy Business seats all facing forward? Food OK. But whats all this up and down of the privacy screen to serve meals/drinks etc. Very tacky and cheap. Also, if you have a window seat and the person next to you is asleep you have to climb over their legs to get out. Most of the British Airways cabin service is superb, but they always seem to allocate the severely made up and extremely brusque member of cabin staff to each plane - some things never change.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BOEING 777 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   25 June 2011 by M Spanos

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Sydney to Changi after given the option to upgrade from Business to First for $800. It is better than the old first but if you were paying full price for first class it is not worth it. I have travelled first on other airlines like Singapore and Qantas and the difference between first and business is noticable, not so with British Airways. Your seat is better but food and service is not. I was in seat 2k and was one of 3 other passengers in the cabin. The seat has a hump in it when laid flat which means you have to slide up or down to avoid it. Limited storage space apart from a small closet that fits your jacket and shoes. Not worth paying extra for.



 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review


 


 




 

 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

© 1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.