HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | British Airways

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for British Airways First Class and Club World Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

BRITISH AIRWAYS First Class and Club World Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




"BA should wake up and stop being so complacent and lazy"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:E Thompson
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
I was seated at the window facing backwards with my husband facing forwards. It seemed ok at first but when we tried to sleep I felt very uncomfortable as the space seemed airless and claustrophobic. When I went to the toilet I had to clamber over the passenger in front's feet. this was not easy. My husband felt very exposed in his forward facing seat and seemed to have no privacy compared to me. On our return flight we were seated facing backwards in the centre. this was more comfortable but only if you are travelling together. I would have hated sitting in this seat with a stranger. You still had to climb over people on the way to the toilet. The footrest in front of me was covered in spilled tea or coffee obviously had not been cleaned. I wish I had taken wipes with me as area around us was grubby. Stewards pleasant and helpful but service was haphazard not being offered orange juice at breakfast and no offer to top up wine glass at dinner. BA should wake up and stop being so complacent and lazy. My husband has flown emirates business class which is far superior.


"My advice ... only use BA as a last resort"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:David Jennings
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
I have flown business class to many destinations, and my travel agent suggested BA for a trip from Heathrow to Phoenix. I read online reviews which were poor and discussed with the agent who said in his experience BA was good. I wish I had taken said no and taken another airline. I flew with 2 colleagues, and all of our baggage did not arrive, resulting in 2 days of high stress caused by BA's general contempt and poor customer service. But I am not using that to review the seats otherwise the score would be zero, and hence unhelpful. The Business Class section is a very odd layout and reminds me of something from 15 years ago. The cabin is not as impressive as KLM, Emirates, Air France, Virgin etc, all of which I fly regularly. I flew with 3 colleagues and I sat in the middle section where there are 4 interlocking chairs, with the inner 2 almost being made for couples, and the outer 2 separated by an odd screen which the hostesses continually turn down when passing food and drinks over you to the 2 people in the middle. If you travelling alone then you are going to get zero privacy, and if travelling in a couple then the 2 middle seats would be better. But getting out to the toilets means climbing over a huge footrest at the foot of each chair. My own sleep and general privacy was constantly interrupted by a family with young kids who could not step (a big step) over the footrests and hence used the stool as a climbing frame. The food was good, but the staff had zero personality. My advice would be to choose the other airline choices first and only use BA as a last resort.


"The seats feel like a rat in a small cage"
Aircraft:Airbus A380 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:P Fitzsimmons
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
The seats feel like a rat in a small cage. It seems to me that the only thing BA are interested in is maximising revenues through cramming extra rows of seats in Business Class, some facing backwards. This means that your face and the passenger opposite you are within nose touching distance - if you lean over. Very uncomfortable feeling. The only good feature were the beds that were flat, affording a good night's sleep. I will not fly BA again because of the dreadful seating configuration.


"This product is already outdated"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:First Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:C Moreira
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
The seat of the first class of 744 could be a little wider. This product is already outdated British Airways being lower than that of competitors.


"Truly awful experience"
Aircraft:Airbus A380 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:S Stevenson
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Who designed the Business Class cabin layout? I can only echo all the other adverse comments about cramped seating and the dreadful herringbone layout. I can truly say that I preferred the Premium Economy seat on the way from London. It was more spacious and comfortable and I got more sleep during a long night flight. I know no other airline that crams so many seats into their Business section. Truly awful experience.


"this product not fit for the purpose"
Aircraft:Airbus A320 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:R Simpson
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Paid 660 for a one way 'business class' seat from Gatwick to Lanzarote. Other reviewers on the page say it all. Had seat 1A. Disgraceful. Easy Jet or Ryanair knock spots of this joke of a business class with their standard seats for a fraction of the cost. Even the cabin staff agreed with this new totally rip off style introduced. Business/club class - it isn't. Has anyone got the patience to ask trading standards and probably a county court for their money back? Go for it - you will almost certainly win on the basis this is a a total misrepresentation of standards and product not fit for the purpose. BA you should be ashamed of yourselves.


"Would I recommend Club World .... no"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:T Reid
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Recently flew Club World JFK - LHR and would not do it again. It was my first experience with BA's Club World and it's far from impressive. Firstly the seat configuration is disastrous. Fortunately I knew the person sitting in the opposite "ying-yang" configuration - good luck to anyone who does not. You would be facing them directly throughout meal times and take off & landing. Anyone on the window seat has the joy of clambering over strangers legs to get out. The amenities bag is a joke - a formless sack which a few unmemorable items have been carelessly thrown in. The service is very average. Despite filling out my breakfast card and leaving it by seat, I awoke to the sound of the captain saying we were 30 minutes from landing - breakfast card still sitting by my side, untouched, so I didn't get breakfast. My half drunk wine glass (from several hours earlier) still sitting there, untouched. I know that the FA's are run of their feet whilst everyone is sleeping, but it would have been nice not to wake up to breakfast as requested. The blanket, if you can call it that, is like something I'd find in my dog's basket. Thin, worn poor quality material. It's anything but luxury. As are the toilets, which are identical to economy toilets. Would I fly Club World again? No. Would I recommend Club World to friends, family & colleagues? No. Would I choose to fly with one of BA's competitors, yes.


"Seats were terrible, very narrow and no space to store anything"
Aircraft:Boeing 777 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:G Fattall
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Sydney


"we always prefer upper deck as area is quiet and spacious"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:Y Levy
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
LHR-JFK on the upper deck which we always prefer as area is quiet and spacious. Staff excellent, food and wine good. We prefer the 747 to the 777 where the seat configuration is not as good and the aisles are narrower. Problem with the 747 is the antiquated movie system which is far from sharp and prone to failure.


"Not worth the cost of an upgrade from business"
Aircraft:Boeing 777 Seat Type:First Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:B Crompton
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Flew first class, seat F1 and K1 to Grenada via St Lucia. Very comfortable seats although they do not have a flat mattress to sleep on like Virgin Upper Class. F1 can hear the toilet flush but only 7 passengers use the toilet so not frequently !K1 is very private but seemed a little narrower, not an issue unless you are XL.  If I had paid 3800 full price instead of upgrading using Avios points I would have been disappointed. The meal was excellent and champagne was unlimited. Further champagne served on the ground at St Lucia and on 25 min flight to Grenada. Not worth the cost of an upgrade from business if paying cash.


"I'm 6'0" and 180lbs and this seat was fine"
Aircraft:Boeing 777-200ER Seat Type:Business Class
Date:12 May 2015 Reviewer:K Cromarty
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
I'm 6'0" and 180lbs and this seat was fine. Flying backwards was strange the first time, and I wouldn't have chosen to if it wasn't for the fact all Club World seats with windows are backwards facing, but as it turns out it's actually better that way anyway. The plane cruises at a slight nose up pitch and facing backwards with my head higher than my feet was great. Only negatives are the feeling of shutting off the person you're facing with the dividing screen without feeling bad, and the seat could be wider.


"Seats were terrible, very narrow and no space to store anything"
Aircraft:Boeing 777 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:22 March 2015 Reviewer:G Fattall
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Sydney-Singapore-Sydney in business class. Seats were terrible, very narrow and no space to store anything - not even the bottle of water. The seat itself is like a coffin and you cannot move, stepping over people every time you want to get out. Food was average, service very normal, the FA spilled champagne on my daughters leg and never came back to clean it. For a 7 hours flight it was nightmare. We flew Singapore-Bangkok-Singapore with Cathay Pacific in business class -you cannot fault them. I will never fly British Airways in business class, not worth it at all when other airlines are better and more comfortable.


"If business class is your cabin of choice fly with a competitor"
Aircraft:Boeing 777-200 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:21 March 2015 Reviewer:M Anderson
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
British Airways likes to badge itself as a premium, full service airline and yet its business class cabin is appallingly budget in look and feel. In a misguided attempt to get more passengers into the cabin BA persist with their "Yin-Yang" configuration. With this configuration half of the passengers have to travel facing backwards, which is the most minor of the issues with the seat. Entry and egress from a seat (if you couldn't get an aisle seat) requires climbing over the feet of the passenger behind the adjacent seat. This is disturbing both for the passenger climbing over and the passenger in the aisle seat. Window seats feel very cramped and claustrophobic. Privacy during take off and landing is minimal, with every passenger effectively having the occupant of the adjacent seat facing them. Aisle seat passengers have no privacy (very open seat) and can expect to be disturbed every time the non-aisle seat passenger wants to leave their seat or has food and drink delivered. Upgrades from Premium Economy/Economy keep the cabin overfilled. The seats are already looking tired and worn out, with the footrest a literal health hazard (falls open during landing). The cabin features a twee and pathetic lampshade arrangement below the central overhead lockers. This adds nothing to the cabin ambience and experience, but gives passengers something to bang their heads on. All in all, there are better business class products (both cheaper and in the same price bracket) flying on a number of the routes BA fly. If business class is your cabin of choice fly with a competitor until BA ditch the "Yin-Yang" arrangement.


"I wouldn't fly this again if they gave itto me"
Aircraft:Boeing 777-200 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:21 March 2015 Reviewer:Daniel Katz
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
BA72 from Abu Dhabi to Heathrow. It's hard to believe this convoluted seating design was installed. It was a physical and psychological nightmare. Those responsible should be banned from the design profession. To reach the aisle you must climb over the bottom of the flat adjacent seat. You sit looking directly at a passenger facing the other direction. The ridiculous privacy screen can't be raised during food service so you have the additional pleasure of watching each other eat. There's more but this was enough. I wouldn't fly this again if they gave it to me.


"comparable to a charter flight for leg room"
Aircraft:Airbus A320 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:21 March 2015 Reviewer:S Dempster
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Flew London-Lisbon (March 2015) and Lisbon-London in the newly configured Club Europe, which is comparable to a Charter flight in regards to leg room. I am 6 ft tall and my legs touched the seat in front of me. When the seat in front reclined this made the flight even more unpleasant. The inflight service and catering were good. Pity, as the airline has made progress elsewhere.


"You can forget having any privacy in the middle two seats"
Aircraft:Boeing 777-200 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:8 February 2015 Reviewer:D Cheriton
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
LHR-JFK-LHR: outbound on an American Airline 777-330 (BA code share) was wonderful. Cabin config was a spacious, appropriate 1-2-1. Complete privacy at your own seat whether by the window or middle and pretty good amount of space, a full flat bed, great IFE including a large touch screen. WIFI too ($19 for the whole flight or pay less for a few hours). Should be free for Biz class IMO and I suspect will be in yrs to come. Fantastic food and polite crew but not that attentive - not up to BA standard but I would rather fly AA and pay more for it if needed over BA. Why? Return leg on BA aircraft 777-200 but with a 2-4-2 config into the same width cabin! Do I need to say more - everything as a consequence smaller. You can forget having any privacy in the middle two seats and whilst on a window seat it will be private after the divider goes up (after takeoff), space is limited and you'll need to step over fellow travellers in the aisle seat. If you only fly BA Business I think you'd be pleased. Fly an airline with a modern fleet and BA business feels like premium economy.


"ridiculous seat configuration .. there is little privacy"
Aircraft:Airbius A380 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:8 February 2015 Reviewer:D Michaels
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
I will avoid BA Business Class until they get rid of the ridiculous seat configuration. There is little privacy and you spend quite a bit of time climbing over other people to reach the lavatory. Whoever designed these seats should be made redundant immediately. The seat itself is narrow and not comfortable. The middle seats face backwards and are truly horrible.


"we will not consider any flight that includes British Airways business class"
Aircraft:Boeing 777 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:1 February 2015 Reviewer:G Barker
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Have waited some time before adding my concerns but as we consider our flights again this year, we recall this particular flight with dread. We were on Japan Airlines/British Airways flights - Sydney to Heathrow via Narita. I had no trouble obtaining seat allocations on all JAL flights - however, I became uneasy when I tried to organise seat allocations for the Narita-Heathrow leg with British Airways. (My husband needs aisle access and I suffer, at times, with vertigo.) To our horror, once we obtained seat allocations at Narita prior to boarding our flight, we found that we were allocated two reverse seats in the middle section which meant that we were flying backwards and my husband and I were required to climb over the legs of adjacent passenger to access aisle. On arrival at Heathrow I was ill due to 10 hours+ sitting in reverse. We are in our early 70's but frequent long-distance flyers with no concerns until this particular flight. JAL was excellent - one of the best service providers, but we will not consider any flight plan that includes a British Airways business class arrangement.


"new seats are unbelievably uncomfortable"
Aircraft:Airbus A320 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:31 January 2015 Reviewer:S Tilton
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
New seats and configuration on short-haul aircraft are a disaster for those who want extra space and comfort. BA Club Europe is no longer worth paying for: new seats are unbelievably uncomfortable; seat width is reduced to that of economy (middle seat is not sold but is no longer narrowed to allow for extra width in remaining two seats); seat pitch is reduced to that of economy meaning that there is no extra leg room, and, unless you are in row 1, you can no longer work on a laptop, or even read satisfactorily, unless you angle yourself into the unsold middle seat. I used to enjoy the BA Club Europe service, but since the main reasons for paying the premium to travel in this cabin have been removed, that is seat comfort, additional leg room and space to work/read, I will have to look elsewhere. BA needs to think this one through again, as this retrograde step will result in previously-loyal passengers taking their business elsewhere.


"no advantage paying extra for business class seat on European flights"
Aircraft:Airbus A320 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:27 January 2015 Reviewer:N Gates
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
My wife and I travelled from London Gatwick to Malta in Business Class (Club Europe) on one of British Airways "refurbished" A320 aircraft in seats 2A and 2C in late January. Without any shadow of doubt, our seats were the most uncomfortable business class seats we have ever sat in - they were a disgrace. On complaining to British Airways we have been told that the business class seats and the economy class seats on the British Airways European Airbus aircraft fleet are now exactly the same. And this is progress? It is a retrograde step and British Airways should be ashamed of itself (but they try to justify it by saying it will help flight punctuality). If all the seats - business class and economy class - are the same width and are the same pitch (30/31 inches), what exactly are British Airways European business class passengers paying a high premium price for? Only, it seems, the use of the pre-flight lounge, an extra bag in the hold and better quality food and drinks - hardly worth paying several hundred pounds extra for! The "old" British Airways Club Class seats were significantly wider because the middle seat was narrow. The middle seat (the B and E seats) are now standard size and this means the Club Class seats either side have had their width reduced significantly. My wife and I are not big people but, in both cases, we were squashed in our seats and our knees were hitting the back of the seat in front - not what we expect of a business class seat. In future, as there is no advantage whatsoever in paying extra for/sitting in, a British Airways business class seat on its European flights - we will either travel in economy class seats or else travel with another airline (Air Malta for example) which does provide its customers with business class seats that are wider with a decent seat pitch. And, We are sure - judging by comments we have read written by others - that they will be following the same procedure.


"truly a coach class experience"
Aircraft:Airbus A380 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:6 January 2015 Reviewer:B Piper
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
BA's "Club World" business class is the equivalent of coach on many airlines. Hard to find a nice thing to say about them. BA doesn't allow its premium Club World passengers to reserve seats until check in (24 hours in advance), that is unless they are willing to pay an addition USD113 per seat. Ground staff at LHR were clueless, coralling all premium/first/children in 5 queues, then having us wait 45 minutes before boarding. Having had the pleasure of flying the A380 with other airlines, namely Korean, BA is a total disappointment. They've chosen the sardine can configuration, including a middle seat in business class. No bar, no duty free shop, none of the amazing extras you'd find on another airlines. In fact, nothing special at all. Business class bathroom is no different than that of economy - except that ours had a nice pool of urine on the floor about midway through our 10h30 flight, that nobody seemed concerned about cleaning up. BA has removed any sense of luxury or comfort from the experience. Post takeoff drinks were accompanied by bags of peanuts - most airlines in biz class provide nice appetizers/snacks. Food was awful, made only worse by the fact that the flight attendants pulled the plastic wrappings from it at the seat - truly a coach class experience. Staff was surly and largely invisible.


"The seat did not have leg support ... layout is not designed for couples"
Aircraft:Airbus A380 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:6 January 2015 Reviewer:Chris Legge
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
The seat did not have leg support other than when you are in a lay flat situation. The layout is not designed for couples to be able to talk to each other without having to lean forward. The menu and wine choice were poor. If you want to pre book your seat well in advance it was 70 per person per flight extra. There is no fast track for UK residents at Heathrow T5. The business lounge is of a poor design.


"the seats appear the same as in economy"
Aircraft:Airbus A321 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:6 January 2015 Reviewer:A Ratcliffe
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
This aircraft had the refurbished cabin and the leather seats looked good and were basically comfortable. However, the seats appear the same as in economy including width and legroom although the middle seat on each side is left vacant in business. The available room is a disgrace for a product called 'Business'. I am a 5' 7" male and my knees were touching the storage net of the seat in front! Not good enough BA and in my opinion, not worth the extra money.


"the most uncomfortable seats I experienced"
Aircraft:Airbus A320 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:6 January 2015 Reviewer:G Prestia
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
I fly frequently on business class in Europe with BA. The new business class seats are the most uncomfortable seats I ever experienced. While low cost airlines are providing more comfort, BA has decided to reduce comfort to its more valuable customers. It is hard to explain.


"Boeing 787 Seat 3a is a very good seat"
Aircraft:Boeing 787 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:6 January 2015 Reviewer:S Bain
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Seat 3a - this is a very good seat as you don'thave to step over any legs to exit the seat


"I would rate it worse than most Business Class cabins"
Aircraft:Boeing 777 Seat Type:First Class
Date:21 November 2014 Reviewer:Gideon Ong
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
First Class Seat 4A. Singapore to Sydney. Tight for 1st Class, feel like the seat was always swallowing me up. Hard to get out of the seat. Seat was tight. I would rate it worse than most Business Class lay flat cabins and this is First on BA! Food horrible. Service, robotic and unfriendly. All in all, a huge disaster I will not commit to again.


"What an uncomfortable seat - narrow and very cramped"
Aircraft:Airbus A380 Seat Type:First Class
Date:21 November 2014 Reviewer:Tony Maddox
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Normally fly Cathay but got shunted onto BA and imagined the A380 would be good. What an uncomfortable seat! It is narrow and feels very cramped. They make out that it has the luxury feel of a private jet , but truly that is a load of nonsense. The food was not even up to most airlines business class standards, and the crew had no desire to be on the flight - they were surly, 2 of them appeared to be hung over and wanted to spend most of the time sitting down. I do wonder why anyone would remain loyal to BA nowadays. After a brief improvement 5-6 years ago, they have now slipped back to bad old days.


"a total disappointment and waste of money"
Aircraft:Boeing 777 Seat Type:Club World (Business Class)
Date:21 November 2014 Reviewer:R Marvier
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
What can I say, flew from Singapore to Sydney after travelling with Singapore Airlines, no comparison and a total disappointment and waste of money with BA, save your money just not worth it, seats are like lying in coffins, food was terrible and no choices offered and they ran out of the popular choices, TV screen was broken and fixed when I complained with a bit of rolled up cardboard. I complained over a month ago and no reply! I will never ever fly BA business class again.


"Seats were too way too narrow"
Aircraft:Boeing 777-300 Seat Type:Club World (Business Class)
Date:21 November 2014 Reviewer:Mark Rees
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Awful! SAN-LHR - Could not believe they were using a 2-4-2 configuration in business class and smells of profit over customer experience. Seats were too way too narrow - I am only 5ft8in tall but my right shoulder was in the aisle. Lie flat was just about OK but the width made it like a coffin-experience. The seat units were made from cheap plastic and there is nowhere to put your shoes, ear-phones, various kit /lap top. Food was boring and contemporary and service was by unmotivated middle-aged men shouting out selections over sleeping passengers as though they were upset you slept instead of eating. Compared to other airlines this was deeply disappointing just typical of rip-off Britain.


"This seat is not value for the money paid"
Aircraft:Boeing 777 Seat Type:Club World (Business Class)
Date:21 November 2014 Reviewer:D Rapp
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Bangalore - Heathrow and thought we'd give BA a try. Narrow in every respect. Nowhere to conveniently store anything except the floor. Aisle seats essentially jut into the aisle. Zero ability to sleep on your side and bend your knees at same time! Plus I am sitting 2' away staring at my seat mate since each seat alternates front / back. Uncomfortable and not even able to privately look forward at my screen. Service is fine and staff is effective. But this seat is not value for the money paid.


"Bed was good, comfortable when sitting"
Aircraft:Boeing 777-200 Seat Type:Club World (Business Class)
Date:21 November 2014 Reviewer:Peter Vine
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
BA Club World on their last Boeing 777 service from Chennai MAA to London Heathrow LHR on 26 October 2014. Cabin was half full and quiet throughout. No loud eaters, sleepers or talkers. Had seat 4K which is a window seat. Cabin is laid out so each seat has their own private route to the aisle so no need to climb over people ease time you want to go to the toilet or grab a snack. Served first a soft drink and offered a choice of British papers before take off. Later offered a range of champagne to enjoy. Drinks offered either via trolley service or from the club world bar. Food was excellent. A hearty full english for breakfast followed by a lovely three course lunch later. Wine selection good with an excellent 1999 port. Bed was good, comfortable when sitting and right for my height - 5'9" / 1.79m - but not wide enough. I sleep on my front like a dead whale however so I'm sure most normal people - the ones who sleep on their sides or on their backs - would be perfectly fine. Staff were excellent, little touches like coming up the alleyway to hand or remove food and drink instead of lowering the privacy screen put myself and other passengers in my vicinity at ease. All in all a good flight. Did actually get 4-5 hours sleep in a 10 hour flight and arrived relatively refreshed. Didn't get a chance to try the arrivals lounge.


"The seat was comfortable, elegant and cozy"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:First Class
Date:21 November 2014 Reviewer:T Asmyr
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
London - Las Vegas return. The seat was comfortable, elegant and cozy. Not as private as Emirates etc, but still quiet. Excellent service outbound, more ordinary on the return flight.


"The seat wasn't as comfortable as I had heard"
Aircraft:Boeing 777-200ER Seat Type:First Class
Date:27 October 2014 Reviewer:S Taylor
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
I didn't get to experience it properly as my flight to Washington was only 6 hours long. It was a night flight. I asked the cabin director to make my bed two times and when he finally did, it looked liked he had randomly thrown a duvet In a ball in the middle of the seat. I had to ask for the amenity kit and the slippers and pajamas numerous times for them to arrive, but once I got to sleep I kept getting woken up by people walking next to me, a child turning his light on and off. And three screaming babies. The seat wasn't as comfortable as I had heard but to watch a movie it was fine, but relaxing when taking off and the plane was noisy. I would also recommend to get a middle seat if a night flight as you get more space to sleep and a window seat when a day time as you get the impressive electric curtains and more privacy.


"Impressed by service onboard ... ground services are really low class"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:First Class
Date:25 October 2014 Reviewer:T Asmyr
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Impressed by the service onboard. Very personal and pleasant. Food ok. Drinks good. Concorde room in London a normal first class lounge as on other airlines. But no additional services on the ground for first class passengers. No one accompanying you from the lounge to the plane, no one meeting you when disembarking. This was really low class.


"Very disappointed"
Aircraft:Boeing 777 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:23 October 2014 Reviewer:Brian Doherty
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
PHL to LHR in business class seat 10J - uncomfortable narrow seat and no place to put anything except on floor. Very disappointed.


"First class cabin very private, good seats"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:First Class
Date:10 October 2014 Reviewer:Brian Doherty
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
London to Seattle. First class cabin very private, good seats, decent service. I was very surprised though about the quality (and quantity) of the food and how it was served. I've had much better on many airlines business class. Big disappointment.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A380

Date

10 October 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Bailey

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-LAX-LHR. really looking forwards to flying an A380, instead of BA's very old and tired fleet of 747's and 777's! this flight was a tale of two sectors, and I guess the experience really depends on where your seat is in the Business cabin, going out great seats in 51A and 51B on the upper deck, lots of space and a very comfy flat bed, especially as I am well over 1.85m and 100kg. Good food and an excellent choice of wine, the 11 hour flight simply flew by. Coming back was completely different, again on the upper deck this time in 59J and 59K, very poor service as we were right at the back of the cabin, on a night flight the service was far too long, 2 hours from T/O to get served food and then cleared, coupled with no choice from the menu left. The A380 is magnificent, my wife who hates flying, never wants to fly on any other aircraft type again! What really lets BA down though is the level of service attention, stupid seat configuration, weak IFE and above all else the high Business cabin cost.



BRITISH AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

3 October 2014

Cabin

First Class

Review by

H Goldspink

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Just completed a round trip LHR to Shanghai in First Class and it was a disappointment. Seats just okay. Service very poor and food poor. Not sure why I use BA.



BRITISH AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A380-800

Date

3 October 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

G Wilson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-LAX. The BA A380 configuration is very tight with a 2-3-2 on the upper deck. My seat was a bulkhead seat that actually projected into the galley. It was if I was flying with the crew and participating in their conversation and food prep. The seat was constantly bumped and during pre-departure drinks, my partner had an entire tray of champagne dumped upon him in the opposite seat due to too narrow of an aisle for the cabin crew to navigate. Seat was too narrow for a comfortable sleep, and the constant bumping was a problem. Food was fresh, and wines nice. Overall though, poor product for the price.





 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




 

 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.