Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Cathay Pacific Airways

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Cathay Pacific Airways First Class, Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS First Class and Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009 by Lou Chow

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

As other reviewers have noted, the herringbone business class seats are narrow and could be claustrophobic. However, the privacy, unobstructed aisle access, and fully flat beds outweigh any the negatives. The movie selection, with older movie library, was great. The greatest single advantage of this product was that I slept a solid 6 hours of the 12 hours flight!



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009 by Brian Collins

Aircraft

Boeing 777-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The interior of this plane is shocking compared to the newer CX product. It is worn and faded, the seats old recliners with manual controls only, limited recline, and limited footrest. The padding on the seat was comfortable, and its width was generous, even in a 2x3x2 arrangement. IFE is a disappointment, and not just because these are archaic small screens. The picture & sound quality is very poor. I believe CX mainly uses these planes on regional routes, but if you expect better, or are considering a long haul flight on one of them, I would recommend avoiding this product.



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009 by Brian Collins

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The real problem with these new seats is that they are very narrow. While the high walls and herringbone arrangement give you privacy, some may feel claustrophobic. They are fully flat, but if you sleep on your side, don't expect to adopt the foetal position as the seat is too narrow. Length is good, at least on the upper deck. (I hear these are slightly longer than the main cabin seats.) Also, don't expect to look out the window, as they will be behind you. There is an adequate amount of personal space surrounding the seat, with room for amenity kit, water bottle, reading material, etc. IFE is better than most, with large, clear screens, a huge library of content, and controls that actually work reliably.



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009 by D Wright

Aircraft

Boeing 777-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The new seat and herringbone pattern favor the individual traveler. If you value privacy, these seats are great. Couples and others traveling together might find them less desirable because the walls between the seats. People traveling together would do better with adjacent seats on the window sides - 19K and 20K, rather than the seats in the middle. There is a cozy feel to the seats, which some might find a bit cramped. AVOD is very good, with a nice selection of movies.



CATHAY PACIFIC FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009 by Bill Atkins

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

To my mind, this is the best First seat out there, even including the Qantas A380. Very private, without the shut-in feeling of the compartments with doors used by some others. Very wide seat and in-seat storage is handy. Big video screen. Very nice relaxing colour scheme and the design and build quality is first rate.



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009 by Michael Diamond

Aircraft

A330

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Delhi to Hong Kong. terrible old fashioned seats you could not sleep on at all and not that good when seated - when I asked why they didn't have more modern seat, said that older seats were used for regional flights, I hardly regard 5 hr Delhi to Hong Kong flight through the night as regional. Singapore has great 777 full recliner beds for Delhi Singapore.



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 July 2009 by Benjie Chong

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The herring bone configuration of the new business class seats with partition in between means they are best suited for passengers traveling singly. The partitions made the cabin very claustrophobic. I think the cabin lighting and the seat configuration need improvement. Serving food means the crew will have to interrupt your entertainment to unfold the table. Moving out of your space and into the lavatory means you have to stow away the LCD because it obstructs your way. Seat width is at best,only borderline comfortable for me (and I have a small, typically Asian build), specially on the 777-300. Some seats may not fully recline to a 180 angle. Some seats have malfunctioning massagers. Headsets are good, but can't cancel out that much noise from the engines. Overall, cabin and food is not that top notch. The crew can make up for some deficits though.



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 July 2009 by M Dorrell

Aircraft

Boeing 747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

At first sight the seats seem on the narrow side and they are not ideal in seat mode but I found them extremely comfortable in reclined mode and fully flat bed mode the bed was excellent. IFE with excellent sized screen and great headphones. There is not a lot of storage space around the seat but I had no problem putting my carry on in the overhead bins - I was on the Upper Deck. I appreciate if you are travelling with family or companions etc this layout is not ideal but for the solo traveller like myself the privacy is what I want.



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   14 May 2009 by Kelvin Chan

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

HKG-JFK-HKG. On time departure, very attentive crew and excellent catering make this an airline worthy of it's 5 star rating. I am quite satisfied with the new business cabin. There is AVOD and the screen is very big. The entertainment was good too, many movies, games and songs! Amazing service and attention, extremely comfortable in bed configuration, pleasant experience.



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 April 2009 by T Kalota

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seats were old style but comfortable. Cabin full but the service was excellent.



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 April 2009 by Fabrice Bensoussan

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

This new business class is just great. The video system is also handsome. I really enjoy the privacy (does not make me feel claustrophobic) and the space for the legs.



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 April 2009 by David Walker

Aircraft

A330

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

New herringbone J class. I am fairly wide and found it fairly uncomfortable sitting, however, sleeping, as I sleep on my side, was good. Impossible to have a conversation if you are traveling with someone. Lots of storage space for Ipod, Laptop, Book, WashBag etc.



CATHAY PACIFIC FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 April 2009 by Jeff Daniels

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Cathay's new first class suite is fabulous in the 747. Tremendous privacy, extremely comfortable in the sitting and reclining positions. The usual first-rate bedding and sleepware to accompany some of the best food and wine in the sky or on the ground.



CATHAY PACIFIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 April 2009 by G Davies

Aircraft

A330

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I found these angled Herringbone configuration seats very uncomfortable. Landing, takeoff and turbulence are uncomfortable as you are jolted forward and backward into the side partitions. The cubicles feel claustrophobic and cause difficulties in serving meals, drinks and reading newspapers. Looking out the window is not possible without craning your neck around. The lie down position was acceptable, although as mentioned in another review the area behind the head of the seat was very dirty and contained rubbish from the last customer. In addition, my TV screen had a problem whereby if I opened it fully it wouldn't work properly, so I had to watch the screen on an angle. I will try to avoid aircraft with this configuration as much as possible in the future. I prefer the older non-flat beds far more than these. Interestingly I e-mailed Cathay with my experiences of these seats, and they said they had received positive reviews of the seats.





 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review

 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.