HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Cathay Pacific Airways

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Cathay Pacific Airways First Class, Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS First Class and Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

3 May 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Frankie To

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG to JFK return. The new business class of CX is one of the best. I could sleep very comfortably and plenty of space when I worked. CX business class service is extraordinary. Food was great as well. Highly recommend.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

F Won

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

From Hong Kong to Narita, Tokyo. A newly designed regional business class is offered, the configuration is a strange 2-3-2. Woe to the passenger who had to be stuck in the middle for the money he pays! Service and food is up to the usual high standard of CX. However, this new seat is a disappointment. Only a tad above economy class really, it's a recliner, and without much storage space. I guess it is ok for any flights not more than a few hours. Seat width is ok, but pitch is considered narrow for business class. Lucky me, I was upgraded to fly in them, or I'd be upset knowing I paid top dollars for this.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

F Ahmed

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

KUL-HKG. Great Cathay service. However, older equipment in need of a power wash (cabin looked actually a bit worse for wear) and an update. 2-3-2 layout. Seat recliner was broken, and would fall back uncontrollably if I would put any weight on it. Luckily, the seat next to me was open. Unluckily, that seat was broken in the same way. Entertainment console was a late-90s vintage. Poor screen quality. Headphones were not great, either, though my Kindle was able to step in to keep me occupied. Not an awful experience, but no comparison with the business class in the 777-300s that Cathay has.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

F Ahmed

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Great experience. HKG - JFK. Normally, a 15 hour flight is a descent into misery. This mitigates that substantially. Great food, great service, great entertainment selection on a great entertainment system. Very comfortable seats, with the ability to set up and work, sleep, or lounge as you please. I was able to lie flat and sleep in my seat, at 6'6". Take note, though, not every Cathay Business flight is the same. I can't vouch for the other equipment, but the 777-300ERs are in another class from the 777-200s.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

First Class

Review by

Peter Isacksen

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SFO-HKG-SFO last week and loved the service and cabin. I'm 6"6' and I slept about 8 hours over and about 7 coming home. Great bed. Better pillow and duvet. The pajamas are great, but if your tall it's best to tell the airline before (1 day) and they will accommodate. Kit was good, not great. Food service is weird because it's 12:05 am when you leave and they offer a full meal that cannot be finished if you hope to sleep, better to eat light and then sleep. Coming east to west and leaving at 1:00am they offer a snack and it works much better. Beautiful service and great food. Wines were outrageous and the caviar rocks.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

19 February 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Craig Peden

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The new Business Class product is a vast improvement over the previous and is being adopted by a range of airlines. 1-2-1 config, lots of personal and workspace and long flat bed tapering at the toe but without awkward angles like SQ. What you notice is that you can not see one other person. Good if you are traveling solo - not so good if you are going with company (spouse or co-workers). Lounges in HK are ok, not a patch on Qantas new offerings and First Class lounges nothing to write home about (I am an emerald one world so get to go in there). I rate it highly



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

26 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Gritsch

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The lie flat seats are very comfortable for sleeping, ample privacy, good lighting, good IFE, and lots of well thought out additional touches such as the cabinet and mirror. The inflight service is always excellent. The food is a bit variable but much better lately. One tiny issue is seat padding: it could be a bit thicker. Cathay's regional business class, such as HKG to KUL or DSP or BKK, still has the herringbone arrangement or the newer forward facing partial recline seats. Not like the long haul but still very good, with excellent service.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Donald Parsons

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Great seats on the LAX-HKG-LAX leg of our SE Asia trip. Was able to sleep for 6-8 hours which I've not been able to do for years. Arrived well rested and refreshed thanks to the wonderful inflight service and the great seats.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

E Salas

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

MNL-HKG-JFK via Vancouver, CX888. Seats were great, excellent service. Lounges in Hong Kong are great, I highly recommend the wing, near gate 1.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Nance

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-SYD My first feeling was that this would be a claustrophobic seat but once settled everything is to hand, good storage so no searching for items and good connectivity for computers etc. Large touch screen swings out for good viewing either sitting or lying and good program range. Food and service excellent and makes other carriers look very ordinary by comparison.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

28 April 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Erick Ledesma

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-SFO on the new B777, seat 12K. It's a great seat which reclines to a lie flat seat. It has a vanity mirror which is helpful. But I don't see any lumbar adjustment. So far this a great seat. The crew were really great the whole trip.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

27 April 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Dakar

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

JFK to YVR on the flight that goes onto HKG. British Airways JFK Business lounge is huge and with many different options and comfortable places to relax. There is also a First lounge. Very quiet, nice, but no service to speak of. Dirty plates sat for over an hour. First also gets access to the pre-dinner buffet, which was OK but not as good as expected. Onboard excellent service. Very spacious and private cabin. Six First seats, very comfortable and adjustable. TV pivots right, left, front, back. The foot rest you have in, e.g., Air Canada Business, is an actual seat with a seat belt so friend(s) could come by for a drink. Krug Grand Cuvee was served before takeoff. Wine list exceptional including a spectacular Puligny-Montrachet and a decent Pauillac. Dinner was superb. They actually asked how I wanted my steak done. Most got into the pajamas and right after meal service, or even before, had their beds made up. I stayed up, then took a nap. Excellent flat bed with lots of space.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-300

Date

26 April 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Laperches

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Many people dislike the old Cathay Pacific herringbone seat, I loved it. It's a bit narrow and you need to do a little neck twist to look out the window. The food is great, service is great. Screen is huge and good selection of films. Sleep comfort was very good, could be a little wider.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

26 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Smith

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

New Cathay business class seats are great. There was been a lot of thought into the layout of the new seats with great attention to detail. There is a place for pretty much everything: water bottle, shoes, reading materials, IPod, IPad etc. I liked the fact they have changed the orientation of the herringbone seat layout so you face the window in a window seat and away from the aisle.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

12 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

N Ong

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

YYZ-HKG seat 12A. Love the new business class seat. Very comfortable and roomy compared to the old one. The lie flat seat was very comfortable. I had a really good night sleep. The food was okay, nothing special. This has been happening with Cathay Pacific lately.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

28 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

E Marr

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-LHR, we had the old product on this flight and I would struggle to find a good thing to say about it. The dividing walls were very high and coffin-like, it was impossible to look out of the window without developing neck pain, the bed was uncomfortable, seat was too narrow and tray table difficult to operate. The one saving grace for this flight was the cabin crew that acted professionally and faultlessly throughout. Upon hearing it was my parents anniverary, they appeared with a present gift wrapped and a card. It is these little touches which help me appreciate why Cathay is a five star airline. It is a shame that the business class hard product is so dreadful, although I appreciate the 747s are on the way out, and there was little point installing the new seats when they will be gone within a couple of years. Still, the seats were widely hated from day one, so I find it difficult to understand why Cathay went ahead and installed them, it seems to have been a very expensive mistake.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330-300

Date

28 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

E Marr

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-BNE and found the new seat to be very good indeed, the privacy and space provided is great and the bed is very long and wide. The cabin crew were very efficient and helpful, very impressive. The Wing Lounge at Hong Kong was one of the best I have visited, The Pier was much more old-fashioned and less luxurious. The vegetarian food we had ordered on board was horrific, with the main meal chewy and impossible to identify. When we spoke to the crew they said that they were aware that there was a big problem with vegetarian meals out of Hong Kong, that they have had many complaints with it being bland. Overall a very good flight and very impressed with the new product.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

14 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

N Choong

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SFO to HKG in January 2013 on seat 26K. This aircraft has the new business class seats. The seats in the business class cabin are arranged in a herring bone pattern. In contrast to the old business class seats on CX, the leg placement of the new seats face away from the aisle. With only 4 seats across and a staggered arrangement, it offers a good sense of privacy and space. I found that the diagonally placed seat is a little bit hard to sit in as the arm rest placement is at a rather bizarre angle to the seat. It was however comfortable enough to sleep in. There are cleverly devised spaces for storage. The seat belt is not a thin strip of webbing but a big bulky padded rope. The IFE comes with a noise canceling headphone but it gives a loud buzz right in your ears if the pins are moved the slightest bit. The one significant drawback of the IFE is that it is not touchscreen. Overall the CX experience was great and recommend flying the new business class.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

P Greene

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Very comfortable suite, food good and staff very attentive and knew when you needed privacy. Fried eggs and bacon for breakfast. Looking forward to next time.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

First Class

Review by

B Owen

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-SFO in seat 1A. The CX first suite remains comfortable, but is starting to show some signs of aging and will need a face lift before too much longer. TV assembly was very loose, there were multiple stains on the seat fabric, and other wear and tear was evident. First pair of headphones didn't work. SFO-based crew was very efficient but not super friendly or engaging. They also seemed to want to rush every aspect of the service, hovering and asking to collect every dish and glass well before they were finished. Food was excellent as was the beverage selection. The CX IFE is still among the best in the industry with ample selection.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

I Comyns

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SYD-HKG. Seat 11D, love the new design. More private than anticipated and quiet. Well thought out storage although an elbow recess would be great and the opposite elbow is left looking for the arm rest. This is compensated for by the additional width. Overall pretty comfortable.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

B Travers

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-MEL in the new business class and was disappointed. Seat narrow and seat belt tight. I am not tall but my feet hung over the end of the seat when the footrest was raised. Not good storage. Even the food was just ok and coffee in drinkable Flew the herringbone from LHR, and even with drawbacks thought it was better.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

24 November 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Bentley-Taylor

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Travelled from Hong Kong to Vancouver on the new business seating layout of 1-2-1 with the outer seating facing towards the window. It was lovely. Comfortable and private. I am just terrified that on the return journey we will get those horrible herringbone seats that face towards the centre so you can't even see a window yet alone look out! They are simply horrible. So if you fortunate to travel with the new business seating plan, enjoy. It's a huge improvement.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330-300

Date

4 November 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

B Kerr

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Brisbane-Cairns-Hong Kong. My seat 16K, was shabby - many signs of age. Not comfortable as a flat bed for my 182cm, 94kg body. Confined at head and feet, with feet towards aisle. Return HKG to BNE, cleaner, newer plane, different configuration. 16K again, but feet in towards window - more privacy. Armrest and headphone latches faulty. Seat controls unreliable. Uncomfortable for attempted sleep. Food again only okay.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

4 November 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

M Sun

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

JFK-HKG, travelled with my wife and 2 children. Check in at JFK was fast and efficient. Lounge was spacious but not really luxurious. Plane was a brand-new B777-300ER. Privacy was excellent. TV was very wide and had lots of options of entertainment. Staff were friendly. Food was excellent and I really liked it. Seat was very wide as it is in a 1x1x1 configuration while other airlines put it in a 1x2x1 configuration. Sleep was excellent and my children slept 8 of the 16 HRS on this plane, not common as kids are always very excited. The only thing I wasn't too happy about was the service. No bar or anything to hang out with friends or family, luckily we don't usually go to the bar on a plane. Toilets were not really clean but okay. Price and value were not so good as the seat cost about 60-70 thousand HK dollars. I would recommend this but not sure how many people could even afford it.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

K Tse

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Bangkok to Hong Kong. Herringbone business class, seat 80K. This herringbone style is good. More privacy, flat bed. Cabin crew served drinks frequently. Really taking care passengers with nice smile and greetings.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

K Tse

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Hong Kong to Bangkok. Seat 12A, regional business class. For 2.5 hours, it is okay for me. I don't need a fully flat bed for this.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330-300

Date

2 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Adriana Stanford

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

One of the new business class seats. Seat was soft. Great privacy. I was by the window in the first row. Great service, and legroom, the seat made for a comfortable bed. If I have to give a negative, it would be that my sleep was often interrupted as the bed was slightly uncomfortable during heavy turbulence. Of course, there is no one I can rest this blame on.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

1 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

I Black

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-JFK, Cathay's new product is great on space, comfort etc. The only let down was the size of the main course for dinner. I suggest, eating before you leave.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

J Ruthizer

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Nice size, private suite. Very wide and long. Food service and meals served excellent. Long flight from San Francisco to Hong Kong made much more enjoyable in pyjamas, quilt and this kind of service.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Bob Sewell

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The herringbone is gone! The new business class configuration is such an improvement over the herringbone coffins and this makes the long HKG-Toronto-HKG trip much more bearable. The sitting comfort is fine and the sleeping comfort is great. The pop-up arm rest near the aisle keeps you protected from errant food service trolleys if you happen to be asleep the similar curved upper wrap around does the same so you can rest without having to worry about being woken by passersby. The headphones are tucked away in a small cabinet and when the door is opened it serves as a privacy panel that separates you from your neighbor if you happen to be seated in the center seats but if you are with a friend or colleague you can keep the door closed and "stay in touch". Even though I was seated in 11G (at the front of the cabin) I never felt that galley activity or noise was an issue. Unlike the herringbone configuration there is plenty of storage space around and under the seat for shoes and other sundry items.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

26 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Higgins

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The latest business class configuration is one of the best available - room, privacy, storage space. Excellent.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340

Date

26 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Higgins

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Never liked this seating configuration - pity that CP doesn't seem to have plans to update their A340s. The sardine / herring bone configuration with everyone's feet pointing to the isle, not being able to see out the windows, and the sense of narrow confinement.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330-300

Date

1 May 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

B Atiyeh

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The aircraft was changed into regional business class seats few hours before the flight, I picked up Cathay Pacific because of the new seats. Service was great but worst seat experience in years.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

27 February 2012

Cabin

First Class

Review by

D Higgins

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Vancouver to Hong Kong. Loved the extra width - the maximum number of windows and storage space. Clearly they have designed the layout for passenger comfort without trying to cram as many seats into the cabin as possible.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

25 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Charles Hung

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The seat is mediocre at best and questionable at worst for someone standing at 5 ft 11in. There was no elbow room at all and any attempt to stretch the arms in seating upright would result in my arms crashing into the side of the plane or the side of my seat. The armrest was practically non existent. In fact it was so flimsy that a slice of white bread looked firmer than those arm rests. Although the seat transforms into a flat bed, the narrowness of the seat created the impression that I was laying in a coffin and that impression was reinforced by my inability to makes any lateral arm movements.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

24 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Javitt

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Beware the bait and switch. The new business class seats look great and that's how I was lured into buying a Cathay ticket. On the homeward flight I found the old fishbone seats. If you lie on your back, your elbows are pinned to your side for the whole flight. There's not a millimetre of stowage, business class food is uninspired. FA's try to make it up on service, but know that they can't.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

24 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

T Mulya

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

New business class seat a major improvement to the old herringbone layout. Spacious side table, shoe compartment, side pocket and compartment to store headphones etc. Seat cushion could be thicker but overall comfortable full-flat bed. Length of seat in flat position is generous. Side partition offers privacy from aisle traffic. They needs to offer better pillows in long-haul business class cabin.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

24 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

T Allan

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

London Heathrow to Auckland via Hong Kong is an ordeal in itself but seat was comfortable with only a bit of space lacking in the width department. Other than that the seat was good. Amazing privacy with good food.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

28 November 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

X Ng

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LAX-HKG Business class seat is still the old herringbone type. The old business class seats are just too narrow. I dread going to the toilet because it is such an ordeal to move about in the horrible angular space. The meals have shrunk to the extent that many passengers have to ask for second helpings. The main (entree) is pretty much economy class meal served on semi-fancy plate. I find that unacceptable in a premium 5 star carrier.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

27 November 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Edwin Sim

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Perhaps the worst experience ever imaginable has to be one where you are stuffed into one of these business class seats of the fishbone configuration. No elbow room, no storage, and no ventilation when the seats are fully extended. Try flying with a child - you are not going to be able to see him, talk to him, or eat with him. I have been a loyal Cathay customer for more than 20 years. But after three long haul round trips over the past six months traveling with a young child crammed into these awful seats, I will not fly Cathay again until these awful seats are replaced across the fleet. Hard to imagine how a great airline could blunder so blindly on its choice of seats.



CATHAY PACIFIC AIRWAYS BOEING 747-400 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   13 September 2011 by Ned Clark

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

HKG-SFO with my wife. 1A and 1K, perfect for a couple. the seat was so spacious that we could sit side by side. The food & drinks were all A+, comfortable seat, great selection of movies and entertainment and the service was top notch.




 

REVIEWS

1 2 3 4      
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review

 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.