HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | EVA Air

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for EVA Air Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

EVA AIR "Premium Laurel" Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1            
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




EVA AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW  :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Brackett

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I have been flying EVA Premium Laurel class between the US and Thailand for several years now. Since the upgraded to the new 777s the service is much improved. I am 6' 220 lbs (100 kilos for my euro friends) so I like a lot of seat. The new 1-2-1 configured 777s deliver a comfortable seat for this long trip. Controls work, the seat lies fully flat and I have enough room to sleep. The layout is a 1-2-1 with privacy and no one stepping over you in the middle of the flight. There is plenty of storage and decent enough entertainment options. Food is usually just OK although my latest flight in April of 2014 it seemed the food was better. Be aware that EVA may still be operating some flights on their older 747 aircraft and the seats on them are not the same. From talking to other travelers and reading specifications I suspect the EVA Premium Laurel which is their top service level is probably closer to Business class in comfort and catering compared to the 5 star airlines. But for me, the issue is a seat I can sleep in, good service, and decent price. And EVA beats the competition for price/comfort IMO.



EVA AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW  :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

19 February 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

F Testin

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Flew nonstop from Taipei to Toronto. Have no complaints at all. Seeing the stars on the aircraft ceiling was a nice touch - too bad they weren't real; maybe in the far distant future.



EVA AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW  :   BOEING 747-400

Date

12 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

K Kamawijaya

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

YVR-TPE, TPE-CGK. First part was so so as in seat was alright though it was not a flatbed seat. Second part was better because the configuration was 1-2-1, and I sat on window seat, which was an angle seat. But, its quite narrow and though it was a flatbed seat, the leg compartment was not spacious at all. The funniest thing was how come the long haul flight (YVR-TPE) was not a flatbed seat and the short haul seat was a flatbed seat. The food was okay but the bread selection was poor also they are a bit burnt.



EVA AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW  :   BOEING 777

Date

4 April 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

G Nock

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-BKK return. Seats are okay when relaxing but not great for sleeping. Ambience of the cabin is relaxed and service okay. We are using EVA again in October 2013 and are hopeful the refitted planes will then be in service (flat bed seats).



EVA AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

15 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Cho Ben

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

TPE-LAX-TPE flight in early Feb 2013. New seats in 1-2-1 reverse herringbone layout. EVA named it as Royal Laurel class. Excellent privacy and spacious feel. When laid flat almost 2m long. Lots of seat adjustment available so definitely can find a suitable seating & sleeping position. Cabin service is also very good. But the lounge at LAX is just average.



EVA AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

24 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Michael Blatchley

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-BKK in Premium Laurel. Reasonably decent lounges in both directions, seats very good in normal seating and relax modes but the angled lie flat mode is not great for sleeping. Cabin attendants very good and professional, food good for the money. Check in and Immigration was good. In flight entertainment pretty decent but room for some improvement.



EVA AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

26 October 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Graham Elliott

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I concur with previous review (25 October) that EVA can be good value ticket cost wise, but there are also many other airlines that match them for fares that offer a proper flat-bed in Business class. I did a LHR-TPE return, and have to say the full recline comfort is terrible. It is angled, you feel like you are sliding off, and seat is also very hard. Since have travelled to TPE, using Qatar Airways through HKG, and at the same ticket price, I got true flat beds and 5-Star luxury. EVA staff might be nice, but on an international scale, their seat product and IFE is fairly weak, and catering is good providing you like Chinese food as the western options truly awful.



EVA AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

26 October 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

B Montrachet

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I will not fly this carrier again until they reconfigure their seats to lie flat beds. I would rather put up with the shortcomings of US carriers than spend another sleepless night on an EVA business class seat. It's a shame, really, as they are otherwise a terrific airline.



EVA AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

25 October 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Bob Carver

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Seats do not lie horizontally flat, but for the price they are great value. I found the seat the best I have flown - in seating position I could not touch the seat in front with my outstretched toes. Loads of comfort and room to make you feel quite private and spoilt.



EVA AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

12 August 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Alan Trinder

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

In common with some other reviews, I find the EVA Air business class seat far below the standards of other business class seats today. As someone who is short I find it almost impossible to sit comfortably and it is also difficult to sit comfortably whilst eating. The video screen is also less user friendly than many others being mounted within the seat- back of the seat in front. The cabin staff are good and the food is acceptable although champagne is not offered pre flight. Overall Eva business class is towards the bottom of my list of seats to take on long haul.



EVA AIR BOEING 777-300ER BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   13 June 2011 by Ian Suttie

Aircraft

Boeing 777-300er

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I wish EVA would read what passengers are saying about these seats. The seats are awful and they are losing customers by not converting these into proper 'lie flat' seats.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 May 2011 by Philip Rubenstein

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Still no improvement with EVA Premium Laurel seats. All of the negative observations from others hold. EVA's seat design wastes a lot of room with its excessive plastic casing. 8 different flights in the past 4 months and 8 painful experiences. In 2 cases the seat was broken, with one case the seat chassis having detached and the other case, part of the motor not functioning. I was dismayed that EVA would have cleared the seat for use and more dismayed that I was not advised of the broken seat particularly since it most likely broke on the flight into my destination. I started shifting my flights to carriers that offer proper lie flat seating. Unfortunately, it seems my views, like others my comments don't matter to EVA since its primary target are Taiwan nationals and the Taiwan customer base does not put a premium on seat sleep quality.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 April 2011 by R Branch

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I have been a regular business class passenger with EVA for a number of years and fly LON to BKK three or four times a year. The service is good, but am fed up with the seats that do not convert into a flatbed and am taking my business elsewhere. It is time they did something about the seats or they will lose passengers.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   21 February 2011 by A Johnson

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

For sleeping you need to hold the recline button down instead of just relying on the single touch sleep mode button and you get a good seat for sleeping. Food good without being great, likewise the wine, but the crew were excellent, friendly and attentive. Plenty of movie choice as well and a decent screen.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   21 February 2011 by L Yan

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seats, just like other angled lie flat seats, cause the problem of sliding. The service, food and entertainment are great. The amenity kit is also good, with La Prairie products.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 November 2010 by M Steele

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

EVA should rip the seats out of these planes and take the hit on cost because they will lose customers if they donít. Every review you read here (except for the good ones if there are any) is true. You honestly couldnít design a more uncomfortable seat for sleeping, unless of course you like sleeping in a crouched position with your butt on your heels. Lying down is obviously the wrong word to use - should be leaning down.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   9 June 2010 by Donald Hough

Aircraft

B777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I found it quite incredible that the seats were so uncomfortable for sleeping. I just do not understand why the seats recline in a forward position. Sleeping is difficult as one is constantly trying to avoid sliding forwards. Even when using extra pillows to try to prop my legs to achieve a 180 degree angle I was unable to adopt a comfortable position to sleep.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   3 February 2010 by J Voscott

Aircraft

B777-300ER

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I flew EVA Air's new Premium Laurel Class from Taipei to Bangkok. The in-flight service was probably the best thing. The seat was not the best I've ever seen, I wasn't able to sleep very well because it was an angled lie-flat.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   3 February 2010 by Andy Jarosz

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

It's a mystery why they chose such an uncomfortable seat design, when there is enough space for a lie- flat. Can't believe this design is any less expensive for the airline. Will need to sort this out, as I will choose another airline for next Asia trip.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009 by G Miller

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

An amazingly uncomfortable and tortured sleeping experience. Seems the engineers at EVA were in a bad mood or just misguided when they designed the EVA Business Class seats. As reported here and elsewhere, the seat is awfully uncomfortable in the so-called "sleeping position". In the upright position it's comfortable for watching TV or reading, but when night comes watch out. Such a shame, since a decent flat seat would have fit in the space they have available.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009 by N Bodley

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Its not fully flat and sure its not as good as BA or Virgin Atlantic Upper but you aren't paying those prices. Service has always been more than ok, and food too.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 July 2009 by K Wei

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seats are terrible. They claim to recline fully at an angle - but you slide off and literally into or under the seat in front. EVA may need to change when others are rolling out real flat seats. Not much privacy (no screen or divider). Bathrooms are nice and clean. I only get about a 2-4 hour sleep due to constantly struggling to stand up while sleeping.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 July 2009 by Philip Harrison

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-BKK-BKK-LHR. I found the seat comfortable in the upright position but the fully lowered position was terrible - at an awful angle which makes you slide down constantly.



EVA AIR BOEING 747-400 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   13 January 2009 by S Fenton

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seats are horrible. Hard and unforgiving. They are not flat and you have to use the seatbelt over one leg and under the other to stop yourself sliding down. Service is also hit and miss.



EVA AIR BOEING 747-400 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   18 August 2008 by Jenny Bentley

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The Premium Laurel seat lacks the comfort one expects in a business class product. The seat itself, when reclined, is not fully flat with some awkward angles. It is also positioned high when in the full recline position which adds to the sliding down effect.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   20 June 2008 by Richard Hoar

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Decent AVOD although some rivals offer much wider selection of movies. Ordered food prior to departure which gave much greater selection and all meals delivered as requested. The seat itself is angled but I found that with a couple of pillows and duvets (the flight was quite empty so we were able to source spares) it was comfortable and I managed 7 hours sleep on the flight out. Its not BA or Virgin in terms of bed but was very cost effective.



EVA AIR BOEING 777 PREMIUM LAUREL BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 June 2008 by D Freeman

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Flew Taipei to Seattle on one of the first 777's outfitted with the new seating. I cannot comment about my seat as it did not work the entire 11 hour flight; despite the heroic effort of the flight attendents to fix it. Might as well flown economy and saved $3000. My wife's seat functioned normally. However, once reclined there is a tendency to slide down, as was noted by other travelers. EVA needs to consider fixes, even if it ultimately results in another 're-do'.






 

REVIEWS

1            
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review



 
Earlier reviews have been archived (prior to the date of last review above).


 

 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

© 1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.