HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Japan Airlines

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Japan Airlines First Class, Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways bmi British Midland Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Continental Airlines Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways Kingfisher Airlines KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Mexicana Airlines Northwest Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

 
Read Customer Reviews
Economy Class Seat reviews
Comfort SELECT
Watch Airline Videos
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

JAPAN AIRLINES First Class and Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1            
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 767

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

F Wong

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG - NRT. Disappointed the moment I walked in the aircraft, it was just recliner seats from the 90s mainly used for domestic route. Seat width a little narrow, pitch is ok. Horrible design when remote control is on top of the arm rest! Too easy to trigger the light and crew button, which was the case for me. Very dull lighting, crew did not insist all windows open during take offs and landings. Air cond is too hot all the way. Very average offering on their AVOD. For the money I paid, this was way below my expectation. Avoid this type of seats if you can. Bye bye JAL!



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 787/767

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Tony Wagner

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I've flown this airline several times Boston-Tokyo, and Tokyo-Vietnam. On the 787 flights, the seats don't fully recline and the meals were mediocre, at best. On the 767 flights, everything was worse! Cramped seats, equivalent to US First class seats, terrible meals. On both cases, my wife had to crawl over me to get to the isle.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 767-300

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Michael Clarke

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Business Class for the 767 aligned to their 777 version. Flew ICN-NRT. Seats are hard, and where or where did they get these ghastly memory foam cushions? Can I have a clean pillow please? Seats are narrow. Hard. Movie choice pathetic. Very little alcohol - no champagne just red/white wine, whiskey and beer. Food OK. The fare was only a tad more than economy (which was full), but if this is what the long haul seats are like - AVOID JAL - as this is so uncomfortable. Staff - as usual, very service minded and helpful.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 777

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Alice Shiroma

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I loved it. It's almost like a first class and it was really convenience that I can order food, goods from controller. There was a mattress for a seat !! and it's so comfortable.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 777-300

Date

2 March 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

C Evans

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LAX-NRT New business is better than Cathay. Internet Wifi a bit difficult to figure out - they need to de- Japanese the complicated roadmaps to get things to work. Return a week later was substituted with the awful, antiquated "Neo" shell seat. Totally uncomfortable and unsatisfactory given the price of the ticket. JAL get rid of those NEO shells and please put the new flat bed on the US-HND routes!



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 787-8

Date

19 February 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Patrick Kager

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Boston-NRT flight. Disappointing for a brand new plane. It's not a lie-flat seat and I found myself sliding down with my feet pressed against the "foot rest" at the bottom of the seat. For most rows, it's difficult for the window seat to climb over the person in the aisle. It makes no sense that they didn't go with lie-flat beds and off-set seating on a brand new jet.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 777-300

Date

10 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Jack Banner

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The JAL business -class experience is now either the best in class or among the worst depending on the route and plane. I flew London - Narita in the new SKY SUITE which beats BA, Virgin and Singapore Airlines which were my previous favourites. The flat bed doesn't taper as it reaches your feet so you came move your legs around as your please, all suites face directly forwards, the partition goes all the way around (although there is a little privacy screen that needs to be raised as per BA), the seat/bed is very comfortable and a nice big TV screen. Perhaps the best part was the food, it's great and you can order what you want when you want. The next part of the trip was Narita to Sydney which was back to the old sloping seats, no privacy, meals at fixed times, etc. Definitely worth checking the configuration in advance while they roll out the new layouts.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 787-8

Date

28 October 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Davis

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

This is the second time this year I have flown NRT-BOS first was on the 767 and just recently on the 788. I swore I would never fly on JAL again the seat comfort was horrible, the foam conducts heat, felt like a heated seat in a car. The seat does not lie flat, no privacy, little storage for personal items.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 777

Date

28 October 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

C McWilliam

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

First ride in the new sky suite, what a change very comfortable space lots of room now a full lie flat had a wonderful mattress to apply when sleeping. Match with the great food served this was possibly one of my best business class experiences in many year I would highly recommend .



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 777

Date

2 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P O'Brien

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR to NRT return Business Class. Seats are not lie flat, and I found them OK for sitting but sleeping was a different matter. The seats are very narrow and almost impossible to find a comfortable position to sleep in, particularly if you prefer to sleep on your side. You also feel the bars in the joints of the seat when trying to lie out, and of course suffer from the sliding down the seat that this type is prone to. The seat also feels short when extended if you are 6ft or over again making it very difficult to sleep. There is also zero storage space at the seat. All-in-all, the seats in JAL Business Class are poor compared to their competitors.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 767

Date

27 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Higgins

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Vancouver to Narita. The seat is like a narrow recliner so OK if you are comfortable with sleeping in a lounge chair. Difficult for tall people to find a really comfortable position. Fortunately the flight was not full otherwise there would not have been much space. Food and service was excellent and the decor of the plane pleasant for a 767.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :  BOEING 777-300

Date

27 February 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Baillet

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Shell Flat Neo Seat (JFK-NRT). As others have stated, slant prevents comfortable sleep due to slipping down. Seat is definitely not long enough for anyone over 5/8". The presence of a middle seat is truly ridiculous given the $12,000 price of a business class seat. As is having to "walk over" your aisle seatmate to exit the window seat. Food is ok, good variety of western and Asian foods. Movie selection limited. Amenities also limited. All in all I've had much better business class experiences on other airlines.



JAPAN AIRLINES BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   15 February 2011 by A Walter

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The JAL seat is simply not up to the standard set by Cathay. It does not lie flat and it is incredibly uncomfortable for anyone over 6 feet tall. It is impossible to fully extend your legs, making sleep equally impossible. Additionally, the seats are set up in 2-3-2 alignment. The very notion of a middle seat in business class seems unfathomable. I spent many years saving up miles for this trip and felt like half of them were wasted due to a vastly inferior JAL business product.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 October 2010 by R Lissack

Aircraft

B777/B767

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Entertainment system has updated to on-demand, but selection is fairly limited. B777 seat angled lie flat, sliding is a problem when trying to sleep. Front row seats are far more spacious. B767 seat was the equivalent of Premium Econ for other airlines - zero chance of sleeping on a 9 hour flight, very disappointing.



JAPAN AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 April 2009 by Matthew Barnett

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

ORD-NRT-SYD The seats were incredibly hard, the pod is first generation which is unusual considering JAL had so much time to consider the standard problems with other airlines such as the ridiculous sloping angle from head to toe. When I first converted the chair to the bed, I thought my legs were going to break as the leg rest pressed upwards under the seat compartment in front. JAL runs the temperature on their aircraft at 24 degrees which is very hot considering the number of people on a 747 sitting in close proximity. IFE was obsolete, with very few movies on offer. I would not recommend this product.



JAPAN AIRLINES FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   18 February 2009 by Mike Ackland

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seats were the new Solo seats, which are very nice except when flat. They, like others, have still not figured out how to take the lumps and valleys out. Japanese prefer a hard seat, and that was just too firm for me. Food was excellent, but you will not have to worry about your weight because the portions are so small - but delicious.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   18 August 2008 by Peter Park

Aircraft

B767/B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

B767 between Incheon/Narita & B747 between Narita/San Francisco. This was my first experience on Japan Airlines as I usually fly with either Singapore Airlines or Korean Air. Incheon to Narita was a short flight; therefore, I didn't expect too much with its service. Business seat was comfortable and lunch was great. The JAL business lounge at the Naritay had black-out and very crowded with less desk spaces for laptop plug-ins. NRT-SFO, I was given upper deck seat on B747-400. The modern shell-type business seat comfortable. Very similar to that on Qantas Airways B747s. Inflight service excellent.



JAPAN AIRLINES BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 August 2008 by Andrew Bryan

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

An OK product with attentive cabin crew and good food. The seat was old-style. It was comfortable and wide, although legroom could have been more as should the recline.





 

REVIEWS

1            
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review







Earlier reviews have been archived (prior to the date of last review above).


 

 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.