HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Korean Air

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Korean Air First Class, Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

KOREAN AIR First Class and Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1            
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300ER

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Dodd

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

ORD-ICN. Had reclining window seat in business class against forward bulkhead (row 9). Plenty of room to get up and move around and even stand up right underneath the overhead bins without banging my head. Played around with the seat controls until I found settings that were good for just sitting in reading and also reclining and sleeping. Seemed to have good variation for adjustment. Since heading to Korea I decided to eat the Bibimbap, the Korean national dish and it was quite good. Wine selection was also good, with a choice of two reds, Bordeaux and Merlot and two whites, Riesling and Chardonnay. The Riesling and Bordeaux were especially good. The flight attendants were friendly and very accommodating. ICN-ORD. Sat further back this time in Row 12. Similar experience as the outgoing flight from Chicago to Incheon. Since I ate a lot of Korean food on my business trip I decided to try the beef tenderloin for dinner on the way home. I requested medium rare and that's exactly what I got. On both flights, the business-class cabin was very clean and comfortable. Given the opportunity I would travel this way again for any flight longer than 10-11 hours.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777/AIRBUS A380

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Debian

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

It appears as though their lie-flat seats are becoming more prevalent through their fleet. I recommend them. Only gripe: at 6'1" (183 cm), I had to lower my footrest and was bumping my feet against the seat in front of me. Overhead bins are plentiful and spacious. Lavatories were immaculate the entire flight. The lounge on the A380 is cool. The aircraft, both directions, were just too warm. Neither the 777 or A-380 had nozzle jets for air circulation in Prestige Class.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Wolf

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Two long haul flights within 2 weeks. Very different Cabin Crews - 2 of them were kind and attentive, 2 of them not at all (I did not feel welcome)! Beware for flights with Prestige Plus Seats. They are old, not confortable, and cannot be used as a real flat bed. Business Class food has remarkably declined (quality/portion) within the last to years on Korean Air flights. If possible choose an other airline, or at least aircraft which provide Prestige Sleeper Seats.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A380

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

N Oakshott

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

JFK-SGN with Korean on A380 then A330. The beds are lie-flat though I would say they're maybe 178 degrees which makes little difference. There's lots of room around the seat and great storage on the A380 in the side bins. Large toilets, a bar at the back, room to move, very nice mood lighting and spacious. AVOD had a smaller choice than other airlines but the system itself was fast to navigate. Korean offered the lowest business class for the flights we wanted to take and I guess that something has to give somewhere. As most people gave commented on there are weaknesses - below average lounges, good food but not spectacular. Very small (but frequently refilled) wine glasses, cheap blankets, no pyjamas and economy headsets (bring your own noise-cancelling ones!) Apart from these niggles, I thought it was excellent value for money which is something people forget when reviewing.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

8 November 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Dickson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

AKL-ICN-AKL. Business class on older 747. Seats okay, but not fully reclining, keep slipping down. Return flight terrible from check-in to landing. Told we could not have pre-booked seats (booked 9 months earlier) at check-in as different plane - not the case, the same plane just filled up with over-booked economy pax in business class sections everywhere. Then given worst seats in section downstairs, right buy toilet, our group of 4 split up - unable to change or be upgraded to semi empty first class section. Economy pax seated in our section given same service/food etc as full business class fare paying passengers! In fact we missed out on some selections of business class food, as the upgraded economy pax in our section had first choice/served before us! Complained to Korean Air on return, got nowhere! Would we fly again on long haul flight - NO.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Lythgoe

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

It goes flat, there is good shoulder room and the plug in things are all in the right place. Unusual but nice entertainment controls. Padding is a bit thin and it is only just long enough for a six footer. One serious flaw, however, the seat belt is way too short.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

26 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

G Cashion

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

SYD-ICN 170 degree lie seat but slept ok. Food average. Poor wine choice (2 types of red). Not many movies. Very tight connection in ICN so barely got a 2 minute shower but better than a 6 hour layover I guess. ICN to Gatwick - 4 passengers in business class so could spread out, full flat seat, food pretty plain. Its not the best, but if you are paying the bills like me, definitely not worth paying an extra $2K to fly one of the better known airlines.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

31 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

George Hopson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

AKL-LGW, LHR-AKL. Prebooked seats all the way, but none available. Service and food so so. Seats have thin padding and are short for a six footer. Sat in window seats H and J row 8, it backs on to the toilet on a 200 series. You have the pleasure of the suck bang of the toilet flush on the night flight to Auckland. First and last time on Korean Air!



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A380

Date

21 June 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Sikora

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The entire upper deck of the plane is dedicated to Prestige Class with flat bed seats in a 2-2-2 configuration, there is a bar at the rear of the plane with a sitting area, snacks / drinks to order. The window seats have 2 deep bins alongside the seat for storage, and aisle seats have overhead space in bins. Easy controls for the seat, and while the window seat has to maneuver to get around the aisle person if fully reclined, it is not impossible.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A380

Date

24 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Lee

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I came away somewhat disappointed with my KE A380 experience. In terms of the business class seat, there is absolutely no difference between 744 and 773ER business products, except for the duty free shopping mall, the celestial bar and the DIY bar in the front. So if business class tickets command a premium price on the A380, one should really reconsider if the seat is more important than anything. All transpacific business class seats are the same, so too is the IFE. Compared to Singapore Airlines or Emirates A380 business products, Korean Air seats are satisfactory at best. Korean Air does not even offer noise canceling headphones. Nor do the headphones appear indistinguishable from those offered in economy below. KE business class seats do have generous legroom - one is able to climb/hop over a fully-reclined, sleeping passenger without coming into contact with him or her. The Celestial Bar - what the hype and ads do not say is that your alcohol selection at the bar is limited to 4-5 pre-selected cocktails containing Absolut (a sponsor), and no more than 3-4 bottles of other wines/spirits. In other words, should you wish to have beer, the bartender must either walk to the galley or make arrangements to have the beer brought to you from the galley. KE's arrangement for the celestial bar does not jive with one's general notion of a bar. Furthermore, KE's bar has limited seating and seats (including benches) are arranged awkwardly. The lack of any steady passenger flow through the Celestial Bar certainly says a lot. The duty free on the main deck is very unique. I enjoyed a brief walk through the mall and it reminds you of walking through the cosmetics/alcohol section of a duty free shop in any major airport. Unless traveling with miles, Korean Air A380 business is not worth any extra money, especially if you're paying out of pocket. If you have a choice between A380 and non-A380 service on KE, and they are priced the same, simply go with the choice that provides a better schedule for you.



KOREAN AIR BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 July 2011 by Y Jun

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Business class seats narrower than ideal but comfortable to sleep in. Not 180 degrees but no sliding problem. Good VOD but better interfaces can be found in their newer planes like A330. Bathrooms maintained fastidiously. Good quality food.



KOREAN AIR BOEING 777-300ER FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 June 2011 by S Yoon

Aircraft

Boeing 777-300ER

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

New Kosmo Suite. The padding was way thinner than the old seats but it was wide so wonderful to sleep in. Most FA's couldn't speak or understand English fully.



KOREAN AIR BOEING 777-300 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   25 June 2011 by G Konijnendijk

Aircraft

Boeing 777-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

FRA-ICN on Korean Air's new business class. Full plane, friendly service. AVOD with enough choice, meals were ok. Their "fully flat seats" are not fully flat and slightly angled. The sitting comfort is poor as the headrest cannot be moved up far enough to allow someone my height to sit up straight.



KOREAN AIR BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 November 2010 by Eileen Kirschbaum

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seats are very uncomfortable, they lie flat at an angle of approx 15 degrees and you keep sliding down. The cushions are almost non-existent and seats are hard and difficult to sleep in.



KOREAN AIR A340/BOING 777 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2010 by F Wong

Aircraft

A340/B777

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

HKG-ICN-SYD-ICN-HKG. Apart from the lounge and ground service being excellent, they use old type aircraft! The decor and facility is very early 90s! In first class, their seat is no different to business class, it only reclined to 150 degree. I did not get much sleep at all, although I had all the privacy being the only passenger. However, be warned that ICN to SYD, no AVOD or laptop power, and that's first class!



KOREAN AIR BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2010 by D Swaine

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Old style Prestige Plus seat, ie. 170 degrees recline. Pretty comfortable and roomy. Most of Korean Air's flights from Europe currently have the old style seat - but check their website as they seem to be putting the newer 180 degree lie flat beds into more of their business cabins. As another reviewer mentioned, I had to ask for eye mask and earplugs. Seat individual AVOD is pretty good, with recent films - disappointed that they don't have noise cancelling headphones. The downstairs cabin feels smaller as it is split into two sections of 3 rows each, whereas upstairs in the 747 it is 6 rows.



KOREAN AIR BOEING 777 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2010 by Francesca Aguilar

Aircraft

B777 / A340

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

It is unbelievable the old style sleeper seat is offered - recline to 150 degree. It is well padded and quite comfortable for relax, but to sleep in it is another story. Hong Kong to Seoul fine, at least has in seat power and personal TV (no AVOD). Aircraft for Sydney is very old, and this time the first class seat is the same - minus the in seat power! They do not provide toiletry bag (most things are found inside the toilet), but a nice set of pyjama and slippers.



KOREAN AIR A330 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 July 2009 by Phillip Brander

Aircraft

A330-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The A330-300 is deployed on long range flights, and offers seating you would expect to find on domestic airlines in business class. I was flying Brisbane - Seoul (9hr 30 min). No personal TV monitors, no power, very little recline and horribly uncomfortable and out-dated seats. When the person in front of you reclines, you are unable to get out of your window seat without the person next to you getting up.



KOREAN AIR BOEING 777 FIRST CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 January 2009 by Insuk Hong

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200

Cabin

First Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

You want to avoid older B777s or A330s in 2-2-2 format. They are only 58" and do not recline enough for first class. New 777s fitted with 1-2-1 format cosmo sleepers are pretty good. I like the older lie-flat seats on older 747s better though.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   18 August 2008 by Joseph Howell

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

ICN-YVR. On this 777-200 you still have the old style Prestige seat. Since KE introduced their new seats over a year ago, I wonder why it has taken so long to reconfigure all of their aircraft. The old seats are truly miserable for a long-haul product Very little recline and almost impossible to get much rest. I will definitely avoid this type of configuration, which I know they also use for their Honolulu services.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   18 August 2008 by Michael Christie

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

All indications were that their B777-200s were equipped with the new angled "lie-flat" seats. Please verify with the airline before purchasing your ticket. The airline's website gives no indication of which routes are served by converted 777s. Needless to say, on my route LAX-NRT-ICN the old-style biz seats were waiting. Inflight entertainment for the 10 hour flight from LAX to NRT was ok. Five movies shown in constant rotation on five separate channels. Films shown in three languages. Service attentive. These old- style biz class seats are just the pits though. They did have in-flight power which was a life saver. No adapter required, just plug it in! Chief Flight Attendant was apologetic and said that Korean was only serving certain routes with the converted planes. I think it would be nice to find out before boarding!



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   18 August 2008 by Renny Snell

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Some planes are converted to the Prestige 'Plus' seats, which are pod-type, recline to 170deg and have individual entertainment systems. Others are non- converted, with original business class seats which do not fully recline. The new seats are less commodious than the old ones, and are harder, with thinner cushions and various ridges and bumps in the complicated seat construction. I found the old seat more comfortable, but of course it does not recline as much. For sleeping, the new one is thus preferable, although not perfect - too hard for me, and does not recline to full-flat. 'Plus' entertainment system is vastly superior. My ratings are for the 'Plus' seat.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   18 August 2008 by Chris Bell

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seats are well padded old school type that semi recline. Cabin on 777's are nice, quiet, service is first class. The 2 bathrooms for Business class are located at the rear of the cabin and are always used by economy class passengers and therefore always occupied and rarely clean. AV varies between on demand and cycling through depending on which 777 you fly on. No amenities - ear plugs and eye masks available on request. Korean Air and all the other sky team partner airlines have remained in the old terminal 2 building in PEK which makes transiting through PEK a nightmare (add at least 30mins) if you have connecting flights through the new Terminal 3.



KOREAN AIR BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   15 November 2007 by Michael Christie

Aircraft

A330-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

SIN-BNE. Recline of seat in this ultra-competitive Asia-Pacific market very disappointing. Reminded me of Biz class in the mid 90s. No personal video units. 3 screens located on front wall of cabin. The single movie of the flight didn't start until about 3 hours into the flight, well after the meal and duty-free service. Service relatively courteous but tended to look for what to take away rather than what to provide. I also had to get up and ask for earplugs and eye masks. Short hops in this setting wouldn't be a particular issue but this flight was long enough to consider several Asian and Middle Eastern airlines flying from Singapore to the Australian market with angled-flat or 180 degree flat beds. The price was good but now I know why.



 

 

REVIEWS

1            
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review





Earlier reviews have been archived (prior to the date of last review above).



 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.