Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Air New Zealand

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Air New Zealand Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

AIR NEW ZEALAND Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2          
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   19 February 2009 by A Bradley

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Reclining simple with accessible buttons and plenty of comfortable positions for eating, drinking, reading or watching the IFE. The ability to be reclined for take off and landing is great as it enables you to stay relaxed all the way. One touch lie flat bed simple to operate and comfortable enough for 4-5 hours kip. Nice big table for eating. A 6ft+ friend on the same flight found the sleeping position a little short in length and the ottoman a little restrictive



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   18 February 2009 by D Graham

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Each seat is individual and at an angle of 45 degrees. The partition walls give privacy from rows in front and behind. Seat comfortable - it can be adjusted to go down and slightly back. The seat belt is padded and very comfortable. Converting to the bed is a surprise - the seat back folds forward (so you have to be out of it when it happens!). The flat bed is more comfortable than other flat beds I have used, they give you a pad to sleep on and a duvet (and pillows).



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 January 2009 by Paul Dunning

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-LAX, AKL-HKG & HKG-LHR in Premier Business. The lie-flat seat is very good. There are always compromises involved in the lie-flat seat designs between sleep comfort/sitting comfort/sociability etc, which having travelled in plenty of these business class cabins, I would say is generally won by the bed and attempts to provide privacy. In the case of Air NZ's seats, I think the compromise is a very good one and provides a very comfortable bed (albeit a tad narrow and short for me) and a well designed and comfortable armchair. I was downstairs in rows 11 & 12 on a window in each of these flights.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 January 2009 by Paul Dunning

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-LAX, AKL-HKG & HKG-LHR in Premier Business. The lie-flat seat is very good. There are always compromises involved in the lie-flat seat designs between sleep comfort/sitting comfort/sociability etc, which having travelled in plenty of these business class cabins, I would say is generally won by the bed and attempts to provide privacy. In the case of Air NZ's seats, I think the compromise is a very good one and provides a very comfortable bed (albeit a tad narrow and short for me) and a well designed and comfortable armchair. I was downstairs in rows 11 & 12 on a window in each of these flights.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 January 2009 by Alison Brown

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

These are the most comfortable beds I have used in Business Class. They truly flat but they are configured at an angle of about 45 degrees to the sides of the cabin. Privacy is less, but I consider comfort and easy access to be more important. They are wide and long enough and there is very ample storage space at the head of each seat due to the angle position (there's a triangular space big enough for a daypack, pillow, some books, etc.)



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 June 2008 by L Lemieux

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

This is a Premier Business class (Air NZ having got rid of its First class). I flew LHR-AKL on seat 7K. The seat, which goes to flat-bed position, is the best I have flown for this class, with VOD. Good privacy, specially for this seat, which is at the back of the cabin (close to the service area and toilet). I was able to get a lot of sleep on this 24+ hour trip. Friendly, very international service to HKG, and friendly Kiwi service to AKL.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   1 June 2008 by S Minns

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Travelled LHR to LAX, LAX to AKL, AKL to HKG, HKG to LHR. Before I went I read the reviews on this page and was a little put off. However I was very pleasently surprised. Yes I agree that sitting in the front downstairs business section is the best seats 1 - 7. Seats 1 & 2 do not have overhead cabin space but its not a major issue as I sat in 2A all the way round and there was always space in 3. I'm 6ft and I had loads of room on the fight and did NOT find the bed too short or too narrow. I actually slept well which is a first!. The pillow was good and so was the duvet. The service was excellent and so was the food and drink. Entertainment excellent. Didn't have a problem with any of the controls and they didn't get in the way. Toilets were clean through out. I totally enjoyed by 4 long haul flights with them and would book again.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   1 June 2008 by Andrew Bryan

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

A perfect product which could be made better by the provision of sleep suits and flexible menu timings. The seat in seat mode is comfortable and laid out well avoiding the clutter of buttons, headsets and controllers. I did have reservations about how convenient it is to need to stand up to convert seat to bed, however, having experienced flat seat products on 5 other airlines in the past 10 days, it works better as you make a conscious decision to lie down to sleep. Air New Zealand has eradicated the design flaws which mar Virgin's Upper Class product and Air New Zealand seats are considerably softer beds than their Virgin counterparts.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   24 January 2008 by Colin Black

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-MEL return with stopovers at LAX and AKL. Fortunately I was briefed at Air New Zealand's main London office to fly in the front downstairs section of the aircraft and also advised that for single travellers the best seats are 7A and 7K. I managed to secure these for three of the four long haul sectors and can recommend them. They are at the rear of the front section, and are very private, almost like Emirates First, since the centre console containing snacks/magazines etc. provides total privacy from the seat across the aisle. The galley is immediately behind but once airborne there was little noise coming from this. Seats to avoid in this section would be 1 - 3 A or K unless one felt very intimate with the person opposite! Donot accept any seat not in the front downstairs section of the aircraft. Even change your dates if necessary in order to secure 4 - 7 A or K! Other Business sections of the aircraft are claustrophobic. The technology of the seats is very advanced but tray table can be a problem, popping out almost randomly!



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   8 October 2007 by Eric Taarland

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The new seats are very good. Based on previous reviews, I made sure I sat in the lower cabin, but was unable to get the front portion of the cabin. I found it does not make much of a difference, as I did sit in 4F on the way back. The food was above average, as was the selection of wines on board. I did get a few hours sleep, something I rarely manage on planes. IFE was very good, despite being somewhat slow to react to the controls. All in all, a very pleasant experience, which I would recommend to anyone wanting to fly LHR-LAX direct!






 

REVIEWS

1 2          
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review


 


 
Earlier reviews have been archived (prior to the date of last review above).

 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.