HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Air New Zealand

Read Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Air New Zealand Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

AIR NEW ZEALAND Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2          
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

28 July 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

W Fischer

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

AKL-NRT in Business, bulkhead seats. This has been the worst trip ever. The seat feels tighter ( widthwise) than a coach seat, the leg rest barely rises, and the back reclines only minimal making for a very uncomfortable position. There is also a very tight pitch, I am 6'4" and I was unable to stretch my legs without hitting the wall. Don't get me wrong, the B767 is a great plane, however, this is a bad seat and not worth spending thousands for. Hard to imagine this was state of the art a long time ago. Save your money, stay away from this eat product and buy a coach ticket and seat yourself in 19 A/B or J/K. Your experience will be greatly improved.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

P Fitzgerald

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Auckland-Honolulu return. No premium service offered for baggage check in for business class this had to be done by us. We had a disabled family member on crutches and left in a hurry from as it indicated final call in the lounge only to find another 15 minute wait till boarding. Luggage was dropped by the flight attendant on my head. Food and beverage service was slow and the selected meals wanted were not available. On a 9 hour flight no other hot food was available. The meals are too small for large adult males. The 767 is not up to standard for business class. The in cabin service was poor on NZ 10. The cabin was full (24) and 2 staff did not cope well. Our return flight was better on NZ 9 but it is definitely not worth purchasing a business class ticket on Air NZ 10/9 767 flights. If you have an upgrade that it fine but I would not consider it a business class experience.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

19 February 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

D Boland

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LAX-AKL, Seat 7A. Herringbone seat layout is great for solo travelers but I noticed couples were having trouble chatting as they have to twist around to see each other. Service on the flight was excellent. The crew help you fold the seat into the flat bed and roll out the added mattress. I'm a big guy (6'0", 250 lbs) and a stomach sleeper and I was able to stretch out comfortably on the bed. Entertainment system is adequate, and there is a USB for plugging and charging your phone above the magazine slot. Seat 7A specifics - last row in the front cabin so there is a bulkhead behind you, which could feel claustrophobic for some. There is only one window with the seat so you have to twist around a bit to see out. When I was sleeping I started to get warm and noticed that my pillows were covering what appeared to be the outtake vent. Once I moved the pillows around I could feel the air moving again and slept better. In that respect, it also felt warm while in the seated position, perhaps because the mattress is rolled up and placed behind your seat, maybe covering the vents? Another bonus on the flight I found was that there was no real take off or landing position for the seat. You could have the seat in a slightly reclined position for take off. More comfort!



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Y Ren

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Very comfortable full flat bed in this dated 747. You can smell the age of the aircraft but the seat is very comfortable and private for business class. Auckland to Sydney is only 3.5 hours flight, I enjoyed NZ Business class. AVOD is pretty good, breakfast is not bad, service was fine. Business is nearly empty.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

9 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Liz Murray

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

A very comfortable flight. I've flown this route many times now and I look forward to the fully flat bed with a mattress. I always get a good rest on them. I've found staff to be attentive and friendly. ANZ and South African Airways are my current favourites in the business class department.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Rod Harmer

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Auckland - Honolulu - Auckland was on a very old worn out tired B767. The seats were the worst I have ever experienced in Business Class. Very narrow and limited recline , the seat controls etc. were on the inside of the arm rest and one had to virtually get out of the seat to operate them. Quite uncomfortable and mine would not stay upright. IFE was so old and useless I gave up trying to use it. Without doubt appalling seats - 1/10.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777

Date

1 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Geyer

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I found this to be the most comfortable lie flat business class seat I have experienced. In seat mode the recline was more than adequate, very comfortable for reading or using the touch screen entertainment system. In bed mode the seat excelled. The foam mattress is soft yet supportive. The ability to lower the arm rest gave me more than adequate room to sleep on either side. The food was a bit of a disappointment.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-200

Date

21 June 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

John Owen

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I think AirNZ offer a good but not great product, but a lot of the extras have been dispensed with and their latest version of an amenity kit is appalling. I don't like the fact the seats are angled as they completely block out the windows - although it makes them feel more private. The seat is only moderately comfortable with hardly any adjustment functions but as a bed it is very comfortable, especially across the shoulders where there is a lot more width as the right hand armrest folds down. The cabin temperature as always was ridiculously warm and I slept on top of the duvet rather than in it. The crew were very good at making the bed up and then converting it back to a seat for breakfast. The single bathroom at front of cabin was very good although there always seemed to be a queue - not good enough in this class. IFE had plenty of choices but it was slow to respond with a complicated menu and a small blurry screen. A pretty limited choice of food but ok - overall impression is that there was nothing major to fault but nothing outstanding either - it felt like they were short staffed!



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

21 June 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

F Ribeiro

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The herring bone configuration assures a good level of privacy (especially in the back row of the cabin where the bulkhead affords a little more seclusion). And no one has to climb over you to get to the aisle. The seat-bed can be considered on the narrow side, certainly by Singapore Airlines standards, but not compared to many other carriers I have flown. The bed I found to be very comfortable.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

21 June 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Pearce

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Auckland - Melbourne. Seat extremely comfortable for sitting. Lots of space and easy to get in and out of. Due to short flight, did not put seat into bed for sleeping. Easy to see out of window if you want a view. Had seat 1K. Storage space not great but I put all of my things (apart from my ipad and glasses) in the overhead locker so it wasn't a problem. Would fly business premier with Air New Zealand again.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 777-300

Date

27 February 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Fletcher

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

AKL-LAX-LHR. We saved very hard for these trips so that we could rest. I am 40% disabled and have to lie flat for any comfort. My daughter and I are 5'2" and 5'5" respectively. We filled the length of the bed, any taller and we would not have been able to lay flat. We are not wide shouldered but filled the seat, any larger and we would have been stuck. The right side arm rest stuck up into the bed area and it was necessary to drape your right arm around it when laying flat. I was not comfortable, and probably wont be flying distances again.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 767-300

Date

24 January 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Barbara Barnes

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The flight was uncomfortable because the seats were so narrow. I had to sit with my arms on the armrest because there was no space down the side of my body. I am not overweight and although I understand that the seats are a little bigger than economy class seats it was a terrible disappointment after saving so hard for the trip. Cabin crew were friendly and helpful, which helped a little. But I would hesitate to fly Air New Zealand business class again. I know the reason is this plane is used for short haul - that's fine, but make sure the customer knows that before committing so much extra money to the trip!



AIR NEW ZEALAND BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   21 September 2011 by Tony Lythgoe

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I am not sure why the new herring bone configuration is getting such rave reviews. I agree that the padding is best in class and the IFE deserves to be up there with the best but after that it is all down hill. The expansive table is nice, if it wasn’t so far away. The coffin is too narrow so there is nowhere to stretch out your arms and I ended up being scarred from sleeping on the shoulder harness. Worst of all you get the sense that you are lying in a morgue. Sure it is private; all you can see are the feet of the corpse opposite you but there is not a single seat in the cabin where you can look out of a window.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011 by C Highams

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

London to Auckland via Hong Kong. Comfortable herring bone seats gave good privacy. Seat flips over to make fully flat bed and slept really well on the HK to AUK part both ways. Always change into leisure clothes for long haul and it makes you feel more relaxed. Given extra pillow on request.



AIR NEW ZEALAND B777-300ER BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   25 June 2011 by J Kneijber

Aircraft

B777-300ER

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

New thicker mattress for sleeping very comfortable. Left the seat belt off while sleeping at it's too awkward to move around with it on. Drawback of seat is that in sitting position it does not recline much.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 May 2011 by Jon Short

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The new 777's have similar business experience but with new memory foam to lie on, and two pillows. I do miss the 1+1 config at the front of the 747's but the crew, food, sleeper seat make up for it.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 April 2011 by M Wallace

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The plane was brand new with a different seating configuration than standard NZ 747. New memory-foam bed toppers made the lie-flat bed much softer. New touch screen IFE.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 April 2011 by Jeff Gardner

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Flew on 777-300 from Melbourne to Auckland, and 777-200LR from Auckland to Brisbane. Premier Business Class is superior to Qantas business-class product. The walls are a bit low and narrow, and the controls for the very large dining/work table take some work to access, but otherwise ANZ has a great business class product.



AIR NEW ZEALAND B777-300ER BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 April 2011 by R van Meurs

Aircraft

B777-300ER

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

AKL-LAX, new aircraft and new business class interior and service. Large seats but found it was difficult to get comfortable in seated position. Seat is wide and flat bed very comfortable.


AIR NEW ZEALAND BOEING 777-200 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 April 2011 by L Wilkie

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seat is genuinely flat and privacy superb given the herringbone layout. The seat is of the type that completely flips over with a thin but relatively effective mattress laid on top. It's a firm but comfortable sleep surface. IFE screen decent size though selection is only moderate.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   21 February 2011 by A Hindmarsh

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

HKG-LHR in seat 7A. Seat one of the most comfortable I have flown, lie flat bed was spacious. The food was excellent with a great selection of New Zealand Wines.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BOEING 777 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   22 November 2010 by R Van Deventer

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

My first time in Air NZ lie-flat beds. Slightly disappointed. Couldn't find a comfortable sitting position. Also lacked of support under my knees when stretching and using the footstool. The headrest lacked lateral support as well. The table is great for dinner service but it doesn't get close enough to work on.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 October 2010 by L Bailey

Aircraft

Boeing 777

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Service and food superb with fantastic choice of food and wines, IFE on demand and varied. The converted lie flat bed is a little over-firm but seating in general private, comfortable and high quality.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 February 2010 by Michael Taylor

Aircraft

Boeing 777-200

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR-HKG in Business Premier. Central seat, front row. Great seat, IFE brilliant, great service. Seats are fantastic. Herringbone style like Virgin, and recline to a fully flat bed. I'm 6 foot 6 and I had no problems stretching out fully. Much better than BA where I have to curl my legs up. Whole thing has a nice luxury brand feeling to it.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   2 February 2010 by Colin Elliott

Aircraft

B747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seat was somewhat crowded for me (I am 6'2") and I felt a bit claustrophobic, but I did appreciate the privacy. The lie-flat bed was comfortable, albeit slightly tight and not quite long enough for my liking.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 September 2009 by Colin Elliott

Aircraft

Boeing 777/747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Beds are comfortable but somewhat restricting for a 6'2" / 200 lbs man. Food and wine were excellent. IFE was fine.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 April 2009 by Brian Metcalfe

Aircraft

B747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Business Premier LHR-HKG-AKL return. Downstairs, 3 legs in 15K, one in 7A. Once you have made the definite decision to "go to bed" the horizontal bed is great. In the sitting position there isn't a great deal of elbow room. IFE excellent with great choice of movies and rugby (of course). Food and wine ok but service dreadful. The crew are very keen to get things over and even took our trays away before we'd finished eating and drinking on two flights! No chance of a refill of drinks or second cup of coffee.



AIR NEW ZEALAND BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 April 2009 by Brian Harvey

Aircraft

B747

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LAX-AKL in Business Class. We sat in the nose of the 747 downstairs heading down to Auckland and this was much better than the return leg from AKL-YYR on their 777 aircraft. There is more room and privacy on the 747 service than the 777, especially when you sit downstairs. There are washrooms only for business class downstairs whereas you share with premium economy if you sit upstairs. Great service on both flights and nice privacy in the pod style seats. The beds could be a bit softer but overall a great experience.




 



 

REVIEWS

1 2          
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review


 

 






top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

© 1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.