HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Virgin Atlantic Airways

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Virgin Atlantic Airways Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

VIRGIN ATLANTIC AIRWAYS Upper Class Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3        
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




"Suddenly British Airways looks tempting"
Aircraft:Airbus A330 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:9 January 2015 Reviewer:I Ramsahoye
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
I have been flying to St Lucia with Virgin since they introduced the service there and flew there last August (2014) for my annual holiday. I was shocked to see that instead of a 747 they had replaced the usual aircraft with an Airbus 330 with twice as many beds in upper class. It was a miserable experience as the flatbed was akin to being in a coffin and the staff were the same in number as on a 747. I felt robbed. I got no sleep on the way out or back as the close confinement of everyone including an exceptionally large number of small children in super hero pyjamas made rest impossible. Had I known or been told at the time of booking that the aircraft had been changed I would have saved a thousand pounds and flown premium. It was an experience which I will not repeat. Suddenly British Airways looks tempting. Virgin need to understand that packing 'em in and selling 'em for far more than the trip is worth will mean that they lose loyal repeat custom. Space may be the final frontier, but the Atlantic is closer to home and their customer base. They are flying the same aircraft this year. I will not be going with them. It is also over a grand more expensive than last year for travel in August.


"I will never fly on this plane again"
Aircraft:Airbus A330 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:9 January 2015 Reviewer:Brian Hedley
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Flying back from Barbados in Upper Class the seat was the worst I have sat in for business class! It was narrow, no arm rest on left side and small armrest on right side, difficult to get the table out of its slot, seat does not recline very far due to the design of changing the seat into a bed. When the bed was made there is almost no room for your head and I could not sleep in this position neither on my side or on my back (not wide enough), I asked the crew to put it back into a se9at and managed to get a little sleep. The bar is a laugh, the 3 seats are so uncomfortable I went back to my seat, no room on the bar as the crew were filling up small cups with crisps and the bartender was making drinks from a list a crew member gave him, which took up more of the bar. There was little room to move about when 2 crew members coming and going with drink trays. It said on the food menu that you could dine at the bar with a friend? There is hardly enough room to put drinks on the bar never mind plates of food! 33 seats made the aisle so narrow it is difficult for people to pass without moving into someone's seat area. There is no privacy. Clearly Virgin is maximising cash return without thinking about their clients, I will never fly on this plane again!


"I will not fly Virgin Atlantic business class again"
Aircraft:Airbus A330 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:7 January 2015 Reviewer:I Kleber
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Flew VA Airbus A330 in Upper Class from JFK to LHR. The Virgin Atlantic experience started great in JFK lounge which has good amenities and funky decor. But the fun was over when I got into the herringbone arranged seat on the plane. The upper class cabin is packed like sardines, seats are cramped, privacy is minimal, there is no room for personal items at all, and as others mentioned the ergonomics of tiny behind your head tray for drinks and screen that is impossible to watch while eating are just hard to explain. I didn't lay down flat on the seat as this was a day flight but observed the strange experience of others working with cabin crew to put the seat into flat position. Very bizarre in this day and age and I'm shocked how such a design passed mustard unless the only driving factor is maximizing every square inch of the upper class cabin for the airline. On more positive note the crew provided good service and the food was ok. I will not fly Virgin Atlantic business class again and will go with more "standard" business class configurations.


"Upper Class is a great example of how to get it wrong"
Aircraft:Airbus A330 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:6 January 2015 Reviewer:P Angell
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
My first and last time flying in these torture devices. Narrow, cramped and awful coupled with the constant crew chatter, crockery and cutlery clattering and you can just about get the idea an awful experience both to LHR and back to DXB. Impossible to lie on your side as you have the partition basically flush up against your back. bend you leg and your 'under leg' foot hangs out in the aisle and gets knocked by any passer by. Lie on your other side and its slightly better but your lower arm loses blood circulation. The area where you head goes is not even shaped to fit a human head! Never again! If you are going to make a premium product, you need to do it properly. Upper Class is a great example of how to get it wrong. Very wrong.


"I couldn't even look out the window if I wanted"
Aircraft:Boeing 747-400 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:6 January 2015 Reviewer:Scott Dainton
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
I am a frequent business traveler and this was my first time on Virgin in more than 15 years. It was just the seat and video that made this journey no fun at all (service was fantastic and lounge divine). A seat that you could not figure out how to manipulate (I couldn't even see the seat button down near my feet until it was pointed out to me); a seat that was too narrow (and I'm pretty skinny!); a seat that could only be manipulated by asking the staff to 'put it together for you'(!); a seat that didn't allow you to sit yourself up when you wanted to come up, no lamp overhead, the video was incredible clumsy to operate and sitting 'on the diagonal' was odd. I did not like that I couldn't even look out the window if I wanted given the configuration.


"It should be renamed the sardine suite"
Aircraft:Airbus A330 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:6 January 2015 Reviewer:John Freeman
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
I have been flying Virgin Upper Class 3 or 4 times a year since 1992. I have always admired their innovative, airline industry kick ass approach and strong customer focus. But something's happened in the last few years. I continue to read about and experience sub-optimal attention to customer needs in their premium cabin. I contrast my experience on other airlines who know who their frequent fliers are, who stay in touch with them and who know when they are flying. The comparison with Virgin these days is that at best you're greeted with a "have you flown with us before ?" Soon I'll start saying no in the hope that they may pay closer attention to better service. But my chief gripe has to be the new upper class suite. It should be renamed the sardine suite as it packs so many neatly arranged bodies into a small metal container. The seating density could only be increased any further by stacking passengers on top of each other. It is less spacious, less private and less comfortable than the preceding upper class suite. To make matters worse they have provided a thin sheet of perspex between seats to remind you that there is somebody crammed up against you. Come on Virgin, stop this nonsense and get back to your roots.


"Old and dated and in need of refurbishment"
Aircraft:Airbus A330 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:6 January 2015 Reviewer:D Corbett
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
Flew out on old style plane to JFK. Old and dated and in need of refurbishment. Returned on refurbished plane 4 January from JFK. So very disappointing. Would not fly upper again until they fix things. Will be returning to BA business class. Seat storage dreadful. Once you put something inside the compartment you can't get it out. Seat flat so uncomfortable, hot and claustrophobic; really very unpleasant experience. Crammed in obviously to make more money and unable to look out of the window. Aisle so close together you get constantly bumped. Limited overhead storage. And the privacy glass might as well not be there. Lounge facilities excellent staff, food etc brilliant.


"whoever designed this seat should be fired"
Aircraft:Airbus A330 Seat Type:Business Class
Date:6 January 2015 Reviewer:A Vermes
Sleep Comfort Sitting Comfort Overall Rating
Seat Length Seat Width
Seat Privacy Recommended
A330 LHR-DEL. The pictures on the Virgin website look nice, but the seat is no good for anyone over 6 foot tall. The claimed flat bed length of 79 inches is misleading in the extreme. The measurement ignores the fact that the "bed" narrows to 6 inches at the foot end, and is very cramped at the head end. You will be fine if you're short, but uncomfortable if you're tall. Other claimed innovations are a joke. The flip down armrest is on one side only; have you ever sat in a chair with just one armrest? Storage around the seat is non existent, and the overhead bins small on the A330. Cabin crew are good and attentive, but whoever designed this seat should be fired.


VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

30 December 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Ingram

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The herringbone configuration is standard nowwith them and I find it very comfortable. It turned over to a flat bed with ease and the adjustments in the seat all worked. The service good on the way there and back. The food is good and was available at any time. The negative point I could give is the seat adjustment didnt go far back enough for me. I am an average sized person in weight and height and found the seat to be perfect for my frame.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

23 October 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Mary Bentley

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The new Upper Class seat on the A330 is very disappointing. No armrests, no where to put any belongings or rest a glass or cup & saucer. The Pod is very narrow, also when laid flat your head is lower than your body so no comfort there. The seat has little adjustment and the pillows are too big to be of use there. Tried to use the monitor for games it was very slow and would not respond to finger touch. Amenity Kit is a joke - a grey felt pencil case - most were left unopened! I have always been a fan of Virgin Atlantic and am a Member of The Flying Club however it could be it is time for a change.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

5 October 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Parsons

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

We flew the A330 LHR to Newark and had middle aisle seats. I thought the width fine however when the seat was fully flat, I couldn't stretch my kegs out fully (I'm 6ft 3in). On the return we were on the 747 and had seats 1a and 1k on the upper deck. The seats are longer on the upper deck than downstairs. For me it was great to sleep as I could stretch out fully when I wanted to. Some people make a fuss about having 5 rows of economy passengers upstairs with you, but it isn't that big of a deal. When disembarking you won't get priority as upper class does but we were on the night flight back from JFK and I don't really think it's such an issue when you've finished your trip. If you're taking the night flight and you want a good sleep, choose the upper deck. There's only 10 seats in the upper deck business class cabin so it feels quite exclusive!



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

7 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

B Vandeuren

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I have never seen such appalling chairs and on a flight from London to Los Angeles, spending over 10 hours in those cramped, claustrophobic cubicles was a horrible experience. The airline may anticipate flying into space, but they need to come down to "earth" as far their regular fleets are concerned.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

1 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Hillman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Boston to LHR 21st July 2014. Sadly the seats are cramped with no arm rests and the pod seemed narrow, hot and claustrophobic. To be frank, I prefer business class seats where you can lie back progressively. The seat controls seemed to have very little impact. The seats were either totally flat or semi reclined - consequently you have no alternative to be totally flat and "out of action" or semi-reclined - there is nothing in between!. The staff were very attentive, but I was surprised that there was no starter with the evening meal. The aisle was also very narrow and it was clear that too many seats "shoe horned" into the space. Overall great staff but very disappointed with the product . We will be looking for alternatives in the future.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

1 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

K McCormack

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

As a BA gold card holder and flying from Asia to uk every month, was excited at a change of scenery with Virgin Atlantic - mistake. Virgin Upper seating was so uncomfortable, narrow and short, and I concur with some of the other comments below: why put the small tray for drinks behind your head and under a lamp?; why have the tv at the same height as your table?; why face everybody towards each other, with barely a space between each row of seats? I would have sat at the bar, but the cabin crew were sat there eating crisps and chatting after rushing lunch service through the cabin. I now appreciate all the space in BA Club World, the extra storage space, the space to move, and the attentive personal service of BA long haul where drinks and dinner are a relaxed affair - sometimes you need to gauge something against an alternative to realise how good it was in the first place.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

1 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Jones

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I flew Upper Class from Newark, NJ to London, Heathrow. As soon as I boarded I noticed there were far more seats than on other Virgin Upper Class. My seat was in the middle row configuration which in best of circumstances feels cramped. These seats were much narrower and shorter than those on other aircraft, such the 747. And instead of the usual solid dividers between seats these were made of smoky plastic to give the "illusion" of more space. But you could still see the other passengers. I mentioned all this to the stewardess this and she conceded that this model aircraft was introduced when "economic times were tough" and the company was trying to save on fuel. So seats were added. I've always considered Virgin Atlantic the work horse for long haul flights; what you got for the cost of an Upper Class seat was better value than business class seat on British airways. But the current airfare air fares for Upper Class are almost as high as British Airways. For me Virgin Atlantic - particularly on this aircraft, seems to be losing its value.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

1 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Gilbert Schwartz

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

MIA-LHR return in Upper Class - service by flight attendants was outstanding. However, the overall experience was disappointing. Seats have three positions: upright, slight recline and flat bed. Upon request, the flight attendant will reposition the seat into a bed and provide a duvet and coverlet with pillow. The bed is satisfactory for sleeping but it is not possible to readjust to a seating position without vacating the seat and removing the linen. The entire configuration is uncomfortable and impractical. When the seat is configured to a flat bed, reading and watching TV is near impossible. A far better seat would allow the passenger to readjust the bed to a comfortable recline which would permit reading, watching TV, or eating which is the case with most other carriers. People with some limited mobility should avoid Upper Class at all cost.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

2O July 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Ben Fisher

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Upper Class seats from Washington DC to LHR are a complete joke. Flew out daytime Premium Economy and back overnight Upper Class. Premium economy were very comfortable. Upper Class 'beds' are narrow and shaped like an odd banana ie pointed at each end. I am just over 6 ft tall and not fat and the bed was short, narrow and 'hard'. My next flight across the pond is with BA if it was with Virgin I would cancel, it was that bad.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

3 May 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Paul Lim

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Several flights now - London to NY and back. This new Upper Class configuration (which began around 6 months ago) is truly appalling - about 1/3 to 1/4 smaller than the previous configuration. Absolutely no space for hand luggage because there are now so many seats in Upper Class. It is a complete joke - cattle class at upper class prices. Much as I hate BA, I have had to start flying BA as I cannot bear the risk of getting into another Virgin Upper Class flight in this configuration.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Hubbard

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Gatwick to St Lucia 04/01 2014. Appalling seats. No armrests coffin like and hard. I am tall and large but even my short and slim wife found the seating dreadful. Crew and food were good but clearly embarrassed at cabin layout . The bar stools are a complete joke . We have supported Virgin Atlantic versus BA on this route for 7 consecutive years (we have a home in St Lucia) but will not fly Virgin again till we here cabins have been greatly improved.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Fenton

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Great service and staff really can't make up for an inferior seat. The return flight from Newark to London was on a new plane and the seat was so narrow I had to sit with my elbows up at head height draped over the dividing walls as there was insufficient space to put them by my sides. I pulled the seat flat (a manual process now .. Older models used to be electrically convertible) and found seat to short to lie my 6'2" frame and I couldn't lie on side and bend knees as the seat was too narrow! I am connecting to Singapore airlines a380 biz class which is how biz class should be. So, Virgin, great staff, great atmosphere, great club house but absolutely hate the herring bone seats. At one stage I went into the economy cabin and thought next trip I would go there as they look no worse! BA have proper seats so maybe I will switch.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330-300

Date

2 March 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

G Lewis

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My wife and I flew in Upper Class both ways to and from Antigua in Jan/Feb 2014. The outward journey to Antigua was ok (just) with the service and flight entertainment being acceptable. The general cabin layout is awful as there are too many seats squashed into this Upper Class cabin. The seating layout is nowhere near as good as the 747 jumbo jets that we have used in the past. The return journey was terrible for me as I could not attain a comfortable position on the converted bed - the 'pod' is definitely smaller than the one in the 747. Within the confines of the 'pod' i found the temperature to be uncomfortable and even using the ventilators, which took ages to set up, i felt uncomfortably hot and as a result I was not able to sleep at all! The service on the night service return flight was not very good. I did have a problem getting assistance with the setting up of the bed. As the attendant was about to set the bed up the seatbelt signs came on and he told me he could not continue. What really annoyed me was that one of his female colleagues continued to set up a bed on the other aisle whilst the sign was on. My overall experience with the night flight was very poor and I felt that I did not receive value for money in Upper class. I think a lot of people book Upper Class so that they can have sleep. I believe Virgin have got this aircraft set up badly wrong. My next long haul flight will be with BA in their Business Class cabin and it will be interesting to compare both experiences.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

2 February 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Anthony Gill

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Barbados to LGW, Upper Class. Normally we travel VA Premium Economy but this time paid the extra to upgrade to Upper Class hoping for a better overnight travel home. What a waste of money! Many of the passengers laughed when they tried to get comfortable in their pods. My "flat bed" positively sloped so my head was lower than my feet and it made me feel ill. To check I balanced a bottle of water on the "flat bed" and several tests showed it rolling to the lower head end. No arm rest to one side. Miniscule pocket storage, once something goes in near impossible to retrieve it. On exit I asked others what they thought of the Pods and one comment summed it up: "designer could never have spent 9 hours sitting in it - worst experience ever". My wife wants to go back to Premium Economy, I want to try alternative airlines!



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330-300

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Gerald Hopson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

This is the first time I have flown upper class on Virgin Atlantic and unless I get a similar price (which was cheaper than premium economy on this occasion for whatever reason) I will stick to premium . The seat was great in the seated position as was the IFE, however the service was rushed and I was not offered everything on the menu. I was looking forward to getting some sleep, however the seat when converted to a bed was very confined and uncomfortable to say the least. I'm 5/10 tall so you would have thought I would be okay, however due to the seats tapered design my feet were resting on the beds framework which was very uncomfortable. Had I been paying full whack I would have been mortified. On the outbound flight I was premium economy which I couldn't fault.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Ed Riseman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Really disappointed in this new cabin lay-out and seat. The windows have now been removed from the flying experience and the seat is cramped and restricted. I am of average height and weight but anyone wider or taller would be very cramped. Was not able to adjust seat and overall I felt it was a step back from the previous layout.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

E Hill

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Refurbished 747-400. Smaller upper class cabins out of LGW than LHR. Problem with the seats are that they are very hard and the airline will only give one duvet per customer. So I always bring my own extra duvet. Do not choose seats in row 6 in the nozzle, you really feel an extension of your opposite neighbour. There is not much place to store stuff around your seat for take off and landing. The beds are quite narrow and with an extra duvet it is not that easy to loosely fasten the seat belt for sleep/turbulence. Food is good. Bar area is more of a work space for the crew. It has only 2 bar stools for a start. So you are clearly not meant to linger. New audio TV system VERA is not that touch reactive and can be frustrating to operate, especially in the volume control department. Staff are friendly but some of the older members seem a little "tired" of the job. Also, it would be nice if they could allow for some proper fresh air to pass through the cabins in the turn around. The one I boarded in LGW smelt like the end of the previous flight, very chemical and the area around the loos was particularly pungent. This is because it goes straight on to the flight jetty. They could open up some of the other doors.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

19 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Steele

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The new Upper Class seat is disappointing and on the A330, feels cramped and does not justify being called Business Class. Twice, flight attendants accidentally knocked my foot which rested well within the boundaries of the ottoman, without even acknowledging it. Having said that, the aisles are so very narrow with the new seating configuration that it's easily done. Even so, if I had been working the flight I would have apologized. The other impression I get from the service is that the overriding objective is to get everything finished and put away as quickly (and noisily!) as possible. I can understand there are pressures to do this but on an 8 hour flight, it's not fair or really necessary to rush everything, making it feel like a race - especially in a premium cabin. Even the toilets were locked more than half an hour before landing. As for comfort; I find the new seat poorly designed and less comfortable than the old one. The so-called opaque glass partition might just as well be clear as it allows you to see right through it. As a bed, it feels cramped and coffin-like. So, in future, if I fly Virgin it will be Premium Economy because at least you get roughly what you pay for, with it more or less living up to what is promised. Upper Class doesn't, I'm sorry to say.





 

REVIEWS

1 2 3        
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review

 















top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.