HOME PAGE

Home Page   | Seat Reviews  | Virgin Atlantic Airways

Read the latest Customer Reviews and opinions about comfort standards for Virgin Atlantic Airways Business Class seats and Economy Class seats

Seat Reviews

Airlines A-B
Aer Lingus Aeroflot Aerolineas Argentinas AeroMexico AirAsiaX Air Astana Air Berlin Air Canada Air China Air Europa Air France Air Greenland Air India Air Mauritius Air New Zealand Air Seychelles Air Tahiti Nui Alitalia ANA American Airlines Arik Air Asiana Airlines Austrian Azerbaijan Airlines British Airways Brussels Airlines
Airlines C-K
Cathay Pacific China Airlines China Eastern China Southern Delta Air Lines Dragonair Edelweiss Air Egyptair El Al Emirates Ethiopian Airlines Etihad Airways EVA Air Finnair Garuda Indonesia Gulf Air Hainan Airlines Hong Kong Airlines Iberia Icelandair Japan Airlines Jet Airways Jetstar Airways Kenya Airways KLM Korean Air
Airlines L-Z
LAN Airlines LOT Polish Airlines Lufthansa Malaysia Airlines Oman Air OpenSkies Pakistan Intl Philippine Airlines Qantas Airways Qatar Airways Royal Air Maroc Royal Brunei Airlines Royal Jordanian Saudi Arabian Airlines Singapore Airlines South African Airways SriLankan Airlines Swiss Intl TAM Airlines Thai Airways Transaero Airlines Turkish Airlines United Airlines US Airways Vietnam Airlines Virgin Atlantic Virgin Australia

VIRGIN ATLANTIC AIRWAYS Upper Class Business Class Seat reviews




 

 

REVIEWS

1 2 3        
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review




VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

23 October 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Mary Bentley

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The new Upper Class seat on the A330 is very disappointing. No armrests, no where to put any belongings or rest a glass or cup & saucer. The Pod is very narrow, also when laid flat your head is lower than your body so no comfort there. The seat has little adjustment and the pillows are too big to be of use there. Tried to use the monitor for games it was very slow and would not respond to finger touch. Amenity Kit is a joke - a grey felt pencil case - most were left unopened! I have always been a fan of Virgin Atlantic and am a Member of The Flying Club however it could be it is time for a change.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

5 October 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Parsons

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

We flew the A330 LHR to Newark and had middle aisle seats. I thought the width fine however when the seat was fully flat, I couldn't stretch my kegs out fully (I'm 6ft 3in). On the return we were on the 747 and had seats 1a and 1k on the upper deck. The seats are longer on the upper deck than downstairs. For me it was great to sleep as I could stretch out fully when I wanted to. Some people make a fuss about having 5 rows of economy passengers upstairs with you, but it isn't that big of a deal. When disembarking you won't get priority as upper class does but we were on the night flight back from JFK and I don't really think it's such an issue when you've finished your trip. If you're taking the night flight and you want a good sleep, choose the upper deck. There's only 10 seats in the upper deck business class cabin so it feels quite exclusive!



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

7 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

B Vandeuren

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I have never seen such appalling chairs and on a flight from London to Los Angeles, spending over 10 hours in those cramped, claustrophobic cubicles was a horrible experience. The airline may anticipate flying into space, but they need to come down to "earth" as far their regular fleets are concerned.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

1 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Hillman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Boston to LHR 21st July 2014. Sadly the seats are cramped with no arm rests and the pod seemed narrow, hot and claustrophobic. To be frank, I prefer business class seats where you can lie back progressively. The seat controls seemed to have very little impact. The seats were either totally flat or semi reclined - consequently you have no alternative to be totally flat and "out of action" or semi-reclined - there is nothing in between!. The staff were very attentive, but I was surprised that there was no starter with the evening meal. The aisle was also very narrow and it was clear that too many seats "shoe horned" into the space. Overall great staff but very disappointed with the product . We will be looking for alternatives in the future.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

1 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

K McCormack

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

As a BA gold card holder and flying from Asia to uk every month, was excited at a change of scenery with Virgin Atlantic - mistake. Virgin Upper seating was so uncomfortable, narrow and short, and I concur with some of the other comments below: why put the small tray for drinks behind your head and under a lamp?; why have the tv at the same height as your table?; why face everybody towards each other, with barely a space between each row of seats? I would have sat at the bar, but the cabin crew were sat there eating crisps and chatting after rushing lunch service through the cabin. I now appreciate all the space in BA Club World, the extra storage space, the space to move, and the attentive personal service of BA long haul where drinks and dinner are a relaxed affair - sometimes you need to gauge something against an alternative to realise how good it was in the first place.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

1 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Jones

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

I flew Upper Class from Newark, NJ to London, Heathrow. As soon as I boarded I noticed there were far more seats than on other Virgin Upper Class. My seat was in the middle row configuration which in best of circumstances feels cramped. These seats were much narrower and shorter than those on other aircraft, such the 747. And instead of the usual solid dividers between seats these were made of smoky plastic to give the "illusion" of more space. But you could still see the other passengers. I mentioned all this to the stewardess this and she conceded that this model aircraft was introduced when "economic times were tough" and the company was trying to save on fuel. So seats were added. I've always considered Virgin Atlantic the work horse for long haul flights; what you got for the cost of an Upper Class seat was better value than business class seat on British airways. But the current airfare air fares for Upper Class are almost as high as British Airways. For me Virgin Atlantic - particularly on this aircraft, seems to be losing its value.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

1 August 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Gilbert Schwartz

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

MIA-LHR return in Upper Class - service by flight attendants was outstanding. However, the overall experience was disappointing. Seats have three positions: upright, slight recline and flat bed. Upon request, the flight attendant will reposition the seat into a bed and provide a duvet and coverlet with pillow. The bed is satisfactory for sleeping but it is not possible to readjust to a seating position without vacating the seat and removing the linen. The entire configuration is uncomfortable and impractical. When the seat is configured to a flat bed, reading and watching TV is near impossible. A far better seat would allow the passenger to readjust the bed to a comfortable recline which would permit reading, watching TV, or eating which is the case with most other carriers. People with some limited mobility should avoid Upper Class at all cost.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

2O July 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Ben Fisher

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Upper Class seats from Washington DC to LHR are a complete joke. Flew out daytime Premium Economy and back overnight Upper Class. Premium economy were very comfortable. Upper Class 'beds' are narrow and shaped like an odd banana ie pointed at each end. I am just over 6 ft tall and not fat and the bed was short, narrow and 'hard'. My next flight across the pond is with BA if it was with Virgin I would cancel, it was that bad.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

3 May 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Paul Lim

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Several flights now - London to NY and back. This new Upper Class configuration (which began around 6 months ago) is truly appalling - about 1/3 to 1/4 smaller than the previous configuration. Absolutely no space for hand luggage because there are now so many seats in Upper Class. It is a complete joke - cattle class at upper class prices. Much as I hate BA, I have had to start flying BA as I cannot bear the risk of getting into another Virgin Upper Class flight in this configuration.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Hubbard

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Gatwick to St Lucia 04/01 2014. Appalling seats. No armrests coffin like and hard. I am tall and large but even my short and slim wife found the seating dreadful. Crew and food were good but clearly embarrassed at cabin layout . The bar stools are a complete joke . We have supported Virgin Atlantic versus BA on this route for 7 consecutive years (we have a home in St Lucia) but will not fly Virgin again till we here cabins have been greatly improved.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

15 April 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Fenton

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Great service and staff really can't make up for an inferior seat. The return flight from Newark to London was on a new plane and the seat was so narrow I had to sit with my elbows up at head height draped over the dividing walls as there was insufficient space to put them by my sides. I pulled the seat flat (a manual process now .. Older models used to be electrically convertible) and found seat to short to lie my 6'2" frame and I couldn't lie on side and bend knees as the seat was too narrow! I am connecting to Singapore airlines a380 biz class which is how biz class should be. So, Virgin, great staff, great atmosphere, great club house but absolutely hate the herring bone seats. At one stage I went into the economy cabin and thought next trip I would go there as they look no worse! BA have proper seats so maybe I will switch.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330-300

Date

2 March 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

G Lewis

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

My wife and I flew in Upper Class both ways to and from Antigua in Jan/Feb 2014. The outward journey to Antigua was ok (just) with the service and flight entertainment being acceptable. The general cabin layout is awful as there are too many seats squashed into this Upper Class cabin. The seating layout is nowhere near as good as the 747 jumbo jets that we have used in the past. The return journey was terrible for me as I could not attain a comfortable position on the converted bed - the 'pod' is definitely smaller than the one in the 747. Within the confines of the 'pod' i found the temperature to be uncomfortable and even using the ventilators, which took ages to set up, i felt uncomfortably hot and as a result I was not able to sleep at all! The service on the night service return flight was not very good. I did have a problem getting assistance with the setting up of the bed. As the attendant was about to set the bed up the seatbelt signs came on and he told me he could not continue. What really annoyed me was that one of his female colleagues continued to set up a bed on the other aisle whilst the sign was on. My overall experience with the night flight was very poor and I felt that I did not receive value for money in Upper class. I think a lot of people book Upper Class so that they can have sleep. I believe Virgin have got this aircraft set up badly wrong. My next long haul flight will be with BA in their Business Class cabin and it will be interesting to compare both experiences.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

2 February 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Anthony Gill

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Barbados to LGW, Upper Class. Normally we travel VA Premium Economy but this time paid the extra to upgrade to Upper Class hoping for a better overnight travel home. What a waste of money! Many of the passengers laughed when they tried to get comfortable in their pods. My "flat bed" positively sloped so my head was lower than my feet and it made me feel ill. To check I balanced a bottle of water on the "flat bed" and several tests showed it rolling to the lower head end. No arm rest to one side. Miniscule pocket storage, once something goes in near impossible to retrieve it. On exit I asked others what they thought of the Pods and one comment summed it up: "designer could never have spent 9 hours sitting in it - worst experience ever". My wife wants to go back to Premium Economy, I want to try alternative airlines!



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330-300

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Gerald Hopson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

This is the first time I have flown upper class on Virgin Atlantic and unless I get a similar price (which was cheaper than premium economy on this occasion for whatever reason) I will stick to premium . The seat was great in the seated position as was the IFE, however the service was rushed and I was not offered everything on the menu. I was looking forward to getting some sleep, however the seat when converted to a bed was very confined and uncomfortable to say the least. I'm 5/10 tall so you would have thought I would be okay, however due to the seats tapered design my feet were resting on the beds framework which was very uncomfortable. Had I been paying full whack I would have been mortified. On the outbound flight I was premium economy which I couldn't fault.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Ed Riseman

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Really disappointed in this new cabin lay-out and seat. The windows have now been removed from the flying experience and the seat is cramped and restricted. I am of average height and weight but anyone wider or taller would be very cramped. Was not able to adjust seat and overall I felt it was a step back from the previous layout.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   BOEING 747-400

Date

11 January 2014

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

E Hill

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Refurbished 747-400. Smaller upper class cabins out of LGW than LHR. Problem with the seats are that they are very hard and the airline will only give one duvet per customer. So I always bring my own extra duvet. Do not choose seats in row 6 in the nozzle, you really feel an extension of your opposite neighbour. There is not much place to store stuff around your seat for take off and landing. The beds are quite narrow and with an extra duvet it is not that easy to loosely fasten the seat belt for sleep/turbulence. Food is good. Bar area is more of a work space for the crew. It has only 2 bar stools for a start. So you are clearly not meant to linger. New audio TV system VERA is not that touch reactive and can be frustrating to operate, especially in the volume control department. Staff are friendly but some of the older members seem a little "tired" of the job. Also, it would be nice if they could allow for some proper fresh air to pass through the cabins in the turn around. The one I boarded in LGW smelt like the end of the previous flight, very chemical and the area around the loos was particularly pungent. This is because it goes straight on to the flight jetty. They could open up some of the other doors.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

19 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

S Steele

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The new Upper Class seat is disappointing and on the A330, feels cramped and does not justify being called Business Class. Twice, flight attendants accidentally knocked my foot which rested well within the boundaries of the ottoman, without even acknowledging it. Having said that, the aisles are so very narrow with the new seating configuration that it's easily done. Even so, if I had been working the flight I would have apologized. The other impression I get from the service is that the overriding objective is to get everything finished and put away as quickly (and noisily!) as possible. I can understand there are pressures to do this but on an 8 hour flight, it's not fair or really necessary to rush everything, making it feel like a race - especially in a premium cabin. Even the toilets were locked more than half an hour before landing. As for comfort; I find the new seat poorly designed and less comfortable than the old one. The so-called opaque glass partition might just as well be clear as it allows you to see right through it. As a bed, it feels cramped and coffin-like. So, in future, if I fly Virgin it will be Premium Economy because at least you get roughly what you pay for, with it more or less living up to what is promised. Upper Class doesn't, I'm sorry to say.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

E Young

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

New type "beds". Really, really hard and uncomfortable seats, hostess has to come and place in position as no motor now - really unimpressed. Not much room to move in seat, table small, food not good, nothing good to say about this experience.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-300

Date

3 August 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

J Mathieson

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Very good experience with Virgin, even with older seat/cabin. Price lower than competitors, comfort equal to Air Canada pods (better for sleeping than AC pods - comfortable mattress by flipping over seat) not as comfortable sitting (AC pods allow multiple positions). Better than British Airways - their seats too low to the ground, cabin too big - part of a crowd, and service better. Food good to very good. Food service time was not overly long, left time for sleep. Video a bit limited, but good.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330

Date

15 March 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

C Gaunt

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-JFK return on new A330. I'm a Flying Club Gold cardholder 6 years running so I'm a Virgin loyalist, and was keen to try the new A330. My advice - avoid it entirely. The new Upper Class is pretty much the same seat but the cabin is now very cramped - there are two middle sections instead of just one, so you always have people across from you; there is a glass screen on your seat side so whereas before you could settle in and have the privacy of not seeing anyone, now when you're sat you have a direct line of sight to no fewer than 12 other passengers. And for the first time I can ever remember, the overhead bins in Upper Class were completely full! There was no room for my stuff and I had to store it in Premium. The FAs shared with me how much they dislike the new layout as they're always tripping over the passengers. I spent the whole flight at the bar because all the constant commotion around my seat area felt like a homeless shelter.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

16 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

A Goldberg

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The window is completely out of bounds which is unfortunate as we were flying over Australia on a day flight to Hong Kong going back and I love looking out the window - you have to crawl bodily up to the window to look out. The seat is narrow and has only one arm rest, so expect cramp in both arms for both reasons. There is no where to put stuff on boarding as the light blocks the tiny drink tray which is situated behind your head. Storage space around the seat is minimal so when boarding grab the safety instructions, duty free magazine etc out of the space provided and throw it into the overhead locker or you will find no where to put anything. The seat refuses to recline after take off and not flat until a hostess has come and set the thing - after which forget eating in bed, as the tray won't work while the bed is flat. Watching movies is out of the question while eating as the screen goes over the tray limiting how much can be on the tray, so best to leave the screen on the side wall and crane your neck to see it. Food and service was appalling simply appalling and I will probably fly Cathay Pacific next time if it isn't booked out again during Chinese New Year.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

10 February 2013

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

G Sanders

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Was upgraded from Premium on Sydney to Heathrow. Slept entire first leg. Great bed length for 5'10 woman. Preferred it to Etihad in length and comfort. No complaints. Fluffy duvet and proper pillow make all the difference!



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

13 October 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

M Cravino

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Seats 1D and 2D hopeless for overnight flight if you want to sleep. Toilet directly behind your head. Constant traffic from both aisles, noise and light from door opening, closing, locking and unlocking; These seats are in the centre and have no means of controlling air overhead. Got very hot and had to get cabin crew to adjust cabin temperature. Food and service really good. Seat/bed comfortable but ruined by its location. Didn't mind the herringbone formation although not so good for couples who want to chat.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-300

Date

26 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

R Kite

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

Not convinced that the new herringbone system is right. Craning of neck to watch landing/takeoffs is a bit strange, it feels like a forbidden view. Brilliant sight of the Upper Class cabin at night with all the beds and duvets laid out. It looked like a morgue. The alternative view/feeling is that of sitting in a torpedo tube waiting to fired out! Brilliant service by staff who have keen sense of humour.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A330-300

Date

16 September 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

L Dennick

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

The new style upper class seats and cabin are aesthetically more pleasing on the eye but not quite as functional as the older style. The aircraft I flew on was only 2 weeks old (Golden Girl) and already the LED mood lighting didn't work properly. It was a night flight and the crew couldn't dim the lights along the right hand side of the cabin or reset the system. The old style upper class seats converted to lie flat electrically at the press of a button. The new style seats are a more manual affair. Even the crew struggled with them and had to help most passengers. The new style bar doesn't work quite as well as the old conventional type. Drinks were stowed away rather than being on display in the shelving/racks as seen on Virgin Atlantic website. The drinks, snacks, evening meal and breakfast was great as was the attentive crew.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

30 August 2012

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Michael Sun

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-HKG Business Class. The herringbone seating was fair but no privacy, people walking down the aisles can see you. Snack and dinner was great, crew friendly, toilets clean. Sleeping was quite good, fully-flat bed. Inflight entertainment very good. I would recommend this seat more for singles.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

27 November 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

Mike Flynn

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

LHR-NRT, limousine service is horrendous, was meant to pick me up at 9am from my home in Hertfordshire, Limousine did not show up at all - regardless of how many phone calls I made to Virgin it still didn't show up. Virgin's customer service at a cost of £200 let me change my flight for the following day. Finally 24 hours later the limo turned up to pick me up. LHR check-in a free for all - took me 45 minutes to check-in, so much for designated areas for upper class. Didn't get chance to use the lounge as the check-in agent had ran out of fast-track tickets so had to go through the normal line. By the time I had checked in and got through security I had 10 minute before boarding. Eventually after 4 hours delay we boarded, was in seat 7A. Seats are very poor and not good business class seats. Have to strain your neck right round just to get a look out of the window, you cannot do this for longer than 30 seconds. Tried to get to sleep straight away after take off, had to wait 1hr 30 for someone to come and make the bed up, also had to wait 30 minutes for a whiskey! Tried to get to sleep but couldn't - anyone over 6ft, your feet stick off the end of the bed and every 5 minutes you get hit by someone going to the toilet or one of the cabin crew hitting you. Can't get to sleep as the privacy of the seat behind you and in front of you is poor, width of the seat is average and comfort was like sleeping on the pavement. Eventually got to sleep for several hours in the worst position for sleeping, when I woke I tried to get some food but was told that no food was being served until breakfast which was in 5 hours time, but could have a cold sandwich and snacks. I was so disappointed with the service that Virgin offered I decided to change my flight for the way back to ANA.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   AIRBUS A340-600

Date

27 November 2011

Cabin

Business Class

Review by

F Formby

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Recommended

HKG-SYD. If you are planning to do any work in business, forget about it. There is no privacy, you stare across at everyone else. Shared cabin with a group of other passengers getting drunk and talking raucously all flight. Seat is very difficult to operate and no help from crew. Have flown Premium Economy with Virgin Atlantic before and that was better. Also flew business on United and Swiss on the same trip. United had an old plane but was pretty good. Cabin crew very friendly. Swiss the best by a long way - helped that it was half empty. Sent a complaint through to Virgin Atlantic and heard nothing back.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC "UPPER CLASS" BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   12 August 2011 by Tim Best

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Upper Class, just ok for width, leg room not long enough, could not use skybed as my legs stuck out into very narrow corridor which annoyed the cabin staff who could not get past. Strange arrangement in herringbone pattern where you could not look out of window without craning your neck round into a painful position. Service was OK, a very small upper class area with no privacy available. Not enough storage space when you had your hands full, it was a bit of a balancing act. I found that if I folded the TV screen out I could use the recess to place my drink! All in all a better all round seat than the appalling Premium Economy I have used before.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC A340/600 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   30 July 2011 by D Hughson

Aircraft

A340/600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat was comfortable and can be reclined whilst taking off. The seat was easy to change into the bed with loads of room and the sleep suits a great idea.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BOEING 747-400 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   28 July 2011 by Ed Riseman

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I was in Upper Deck behind the cockpit. Economy was in the rear of the Upper Deck which I found a bit strange. Service, meals and IFE were ok and acceptable - nothing special but fine. I was a bit disappointed with the seat, having never flown Upper before I was not familiar with the seat and it's workings. I had to struggle with the table and getting it flat, comfort wise it was fine and sleeping for a 5"11 man was no problem.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC A340 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 June 2011 by Y Sajid

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seat converts into a flat bed for sleeping, albeit tight for space around your arms/shoulders. The As a seat itself it is less comfortable. Also the seat/ cabin materials looked very tired - in need of updating with worn leather and cracked plastic. Entertainment screen and remote were in poor condition. Good privacy, albeit all the seats are positioned at a specific angle, which I found fine but may not suit all tastes.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC A340 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   26 June 2011 by R Turner

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

The seat was comfortable although storage around the seat was a problem (no laptop drawer as in BA business). If you intend to use the table to eat, remember to push the screen all the way out, otherwise it gets interesting trying to lift your tray out of the way. Seat operation was a breeze and the general sitting positions are comfortable, except if you want to look out of the window. Didn't have a problem with fixing the bed as it is straight forward. The sleeping position was reasonably comfortable, but the seat belt on the ottoman was annoying at times. The flat bed did seem wider at the shoulder than BA. If possible get a seat away from the bar if you want to sleep. Inflight entertainment system was OK for choice but some better instructions would have been helpful.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC A340-600 BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   16 February 2011 by T Rooke

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Never again, the cabin held about 45 seats all at an angle of about 45 degrees, very low with no privacy at all. If you have a window seat it's the back of your head that faces the window. Seats were semi upright which converted to flat bed, I couldn't be doing with making my own bed or having it made for me while I stood and waited so I elected to sleep with the seat as reclined as far as possible-my mistake as it doesn't recline very much at all! I had about 1 hours sleep between Cape Town-Heathrow. My wife and I had been allocated seats facing each other but due to the stupid angle of the seats I could only see her feet! Luckily 2 other passengers disliked their seats so we swapped. These seats were next to each other, only snag was the sidescreens are so high we couldn't see or speak to each other without undoing our seatbelts which enabled us to sit on the edge of our seat. The steward suggested my wife could sit on my footstool if we wanted to talk or share a meal - wonderful! The overall look of the cabin was similar to that of a cattle stall! Virgin Upper Class - don't make me laugh!



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   29 July 2010 by M Tyson

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I was a little disappointed with Upper Class. I could not find a comfortable position with the seats and would prefer direct control over the full recline rather than having to call and attendant for assistance. It was a somewhat cramped feeling and the angled seats don't seem to work for me. The service was pleasant but food quality was average. I will revert to Premium Economy on future trips.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   9 June 2010 by D Davidson

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Sat in the quieter section behind the bar row 13 upper class which was anything but quiet. Lots of passing traffic to/from kitchen also passengers in premium economy coming through to use the toilets. Seat narrower than expected. The foot rest is supposed to double up as a chair for friend to sit and chat with you is so small that it's virtually unusable. No overhead storage. Old loop entertainment system. Row 4K on return same A340 , more private as not facing anyone, overhead storage, noted that middle row didn't have storage in this front section either. Old loop entertainment system still. Not possible to charge laptops system as its not available on some routes, where it is available you have to buy special charge leads for £63 GBP from skyshop.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010 by James Wyatt

Aircraft

A40-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

LHR - Nairobi. The lounge at T3 is fantastic - plenty to do, even had my shoes cleaned. The time disappeared quickly. We had our three young kids with us, so slightly nervous of their behaviour, but they fell asleep almost immediately (night flight). I can't make my mind up about the Upper Class seats. It's a clever design but not quite long enough for my 6'1" body! Shoulder space when lying flat is good though. Virgin staff are nearly always nice pretty young girls and often very good, but on this flight they were clearly tired and service was sloppy. The food was unremarkable. The bar can be fun if there are other willing passengers. Overall it is a really good business class service. BA has better trained staff and slightly better food, but given the choice, I'd use Virgin.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010 by Andy Baker

Aircraft

A340-60

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Found the seat highly uncomfortable due to the fixed recline position, It becomes a pain when you want to convert to a bed as this requires cabin attendant assistance. Poor design.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010 by Ben Lovejoy

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

I want to sleep, and the mattress is much better than leather seating for that. Having to get up first is a slight pain, but I tend to just go to the bathroom when I'm ready to sleep and ask a FA to make up the bed, then it's done when I return. The pod design is fantastic for privacy, though awkward if you want to talk. The width is good in bed mode, slightly cramped in seat mode, but I love every seat having direct aisle access.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010 by Gerry Ryan

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Upper Class seats are good when fully flat - plenty of room to lie fully flat and comes with a nice quilt and pillow. When configured as a seat you can recline for take off and landing - you do have to engage in some contortion however to look out the window. Privacy good and cabin is generally quiet unless you are sitting near the bar. The seat is a bit funny when in seat mode in that you do not really have a right arm rest (seat 7K) and storage of personal items is an issue as the little section designed for this is too small. I stored my passport there and to my dismay discovered that it had been eaten by the seat - had to dismantle the seat to retrieve it.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   5 February 2010 by Prajeet Chadha

Aircraft

A340-600

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

DEL-LHR Upper Class. The length of seat is good however while sleeping I found the ottoman stool which forms part of the flat bed very uncomfortable.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009 by E Hutchins

Aircraft

A340-300

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

ORD-LHR in 14K. When flat this bed is as good as any business class I have tried. But the reading light when reclined, not sleeping, is useless. The water tray is oddly placed and there is little to no storage for a book, eyeglasses or such. One needs to get completely up into the aisle when converting it to a bed which is a little inconvenient. You are either flat or at 45 degrees. The ability to have someone dine with you, by them sitting on your footrest, is nice. Privacy good. Donít bother trying to look out the window; itís not possible.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009 by A Mitchell

Aircraft

Boeing 747-400

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat is fairly comfortable and reclines fully flat, however, to do this, you have to leave your seat and move all your personal belongings. The seat is great once it is a bed and offers plenty of space. A good IFE available and upper deck was quiet. Privacy was fantastic; however, because of the odd layout of the seats, it was awkward talking to my wife. Service was OK but not brilliant and the some with the food. As a whole, I think British Airways is better as the seat is more comfortable and has better service, food and a good level of privacy.



VIRGIN ATLANTIC BUSINESS CLASS SEAT REVIEW   :   17 July 2009 by T Sakyamuni

Aircraft

A340

Cabin

Business Class

Sleep Comfort

Sitting Comfort

Seat Length

Seat Width

Seat Privacy

Seat is fully flat - this is key since I tend to slide down the seat throughout the flight if it's angled. Privacy is great, with each set in an individual pod - very comfortable and cozy. They give you down duvets. Seat width and length are great for me (I am 5'8" and pretty thin). Individual pods are not great if you are traveling with a partner you want to talk to. It is somewhat annoying that the seat has to be physically flipped to go from lounge to bed mode.





 

REVIEWS

1 2 3        
Follow us on Facebook

Add a Seat Review

 















top

back to top



HOME PAGE

With a unique knowledge of airline seats, 24 years of airline industry experience, and supported by millions of customer reviews and seat ratings, Skytrax know Your Comfort Counts ..... and use our knowledge to help you find the Best seats in the cabin to have a most enjoyable trip.

Home Page

Feedback

Seat Reviews

Site Map

Terms & Conditions

 

© 1999-2014 Skytrax. All rights reserved.